Yellow Magic Orchestra – Naughty Boys (1983) [Japan 2019] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Yellow Magic Orchestra – Naughty Boys (1983) [Japan 2019]
PS3 Rip | 2x SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 80:47 minutes | Scans included | 3,26 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,78 GB

Naughty Boys is the sixth album by Yellow Magic Orchestra, recorded from October 1982 to March 1983. It contains the pop-oriented single “Kimi ni Mune Kyun”, as well as a “preview” of “You’ve Got to Help Yourself”, which was released in its full version on the companion album Naughty Boys Instrumental, and again with vocals on Service. A remix album, Naughty Boys Instrumental contained nearly the entire Naughty Boys album as instrumental tracks in an entirely different running order, as well as the b-side to “Kimi ni, mune kyun.”, “Chaos Panic”; and the full instrumental version of “You’ve Got to Help Yourself”, which was released in “preview” form on the previous album.

Posturing themselves as the synth-pop stars they already were (though only strictly speaking), Naughty Boys is more of a landmark for Japanese pop than electronic music. Beginning with the synth-pop hit “Kimi Ni Mune Kyun” (featuring vocals just as accomplished as its production), the album clearly sounds different; previous YMO material had never sounded explicitly like Asian pop music before. That said, it’s still a solid album of commercial synth-pop and showed the group was still cultivating their Western connections, with help from guitarist Bill Nelson.


01. Kimi Ni Mune Kyun -Uwaki Na Bakansu-
02. Expected Way
03. Focus
04. Ongaku
05. Opened My Eyes
06. You’ve Got To help Yourself
07. Lotus Love
08. Kai-Koh
09. Expecting Rivers
10. Wild Ambitions

DISC 2 – Instrumental:
01. Chaos Panic
02. Expected Way
03. Focus
04. Kai-Koh
05. Expeceted Rivers
06. You’ve Got To Help Yourself
07. Lotus Love
08. Ongaku
09. Opened My Eyes
10. Wild Ambitions

Haruomi Hosono – Bass, Synth Bass, Keyboards, Vocals
Ryuichi Sakamoto – Keyboards, Vocals
Yukihiro Takahashi – Vocals, Electronic drums, Cymbals, Keyboards

Digitally Remastered by Bob Ludwig at Gateway Mastering, Portland, Maine.



%d bloggers like this: