The Amsterdam String Quartet – Haydn: String Quartets, Vol. 2 (2009) DSF DSD64

The Amsterdam String Quartet – Haydn: String Quartets, Vol. 2 (2009)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 01:03:23 minutes | 2,5 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Channel Classics Records B.V.

Haydn String Quartets, Op. 20 no. 4, Op. 64, no. 6 and Op. 77, no. 1 Joseph Haydn’s remarkable series of 68 string quartets encompasses, in effect, his entire compositional career. The ten works together comprising Op. 1, 2 and ‘Op. 0’ date from his 20s (c. 1758 – 1761); and the final nine works of Op. 76 (1797), 77 (1799) and 103 (1803) were written after the ‘London’ Symphonies, and in close proximity to his oratorios, The Creation and The Seasons. The stylistic journey Haydn took from beginning to end is striking indeed, on account of the extended time period involved and the inevitable changes in musical taste across Europe. The Op. 20 set (1772) is generally regarded as Haydn’s first ‘mature’ contribution to the string quartet genre. Two early, unauthorized editions ensured widespread dissemination – from La Chevardière (1774) and Hummel (Amsterdam and Berlin, 1779). The title page of the latter, in fact, with its engraving of a blazing midday sun, was directly responsible for the nickname that accrued to the set (‘Sun’ quartets); equally, the order in which the quartets appear in this edition established the order in which they have usually appeared in editions ever since. Op. 20 was widely admired in the late eighteenth and nineteenth centuries-by Mozart, Beethoven and Brahms (who owned the autograph scores) among others-and retained a prominent place in the twentieth-century concert hall as well….


Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

String Quartet opus 64 nr. 6 in E-flat
1 Allegro 5.43
2 Andante 3.27
3 Menuet. Allegretto 3.10
4 Finale. Presto 3.42

String Quartet opus 77 nr. 1 in G
5 Allegro moderato 7.27
6 Adagio 5.56
7 Menuet. Presto 4.10
8 Finale. Presto 5.33

String Quartet opus 20 nr. 4 in D
9 Allegro di molto 8.20
10 Un poco Adagio affettuoso 8.33
11 Menuetto. Allegretto alla zingarese 1.40
12 Presto scherzando 4.53

The Amsterdam String Quartet:
Alida Schat violin – George Panormo, date unknown
John Wilson Meyer violin – anonymus, Mittenwald early 18e century
Jane Rogers viola – Patrick Robin 2006 France (Lent by kind permission of Elise Becket-Smith)
Thomas Pitt cello – Guust François 1999 (after large model Amati)

Recorded: Hervormde Kerk, Rhoon, June 2008


%d bloggers like this: