The Amsterdam String Quartet – Haydn: String Quartets, Vol. 1 (2007) DSF DSD64

The Amsterdam String Quartet – Haydn: String Quartets, Vol. 1 (2007)
DSF Stereo DSD64/2.82MHz | Time – 01:09:01 minutes | 2,72 GB | Genre: Classical
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: | Booklet, Front Cover | © Channel Classics Records B.V.

Unlike his great contemporary Mozart, who died at 35 in 1791, Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) lived long enough to be feted as a musical colossus in his own lifetime. Writing in the influential, Leipzig-based Allgemeine musikalische Zeitung in 1801, Johann Karl Friedrich Triest explains: all the composers of symphonies and quartets lag behind the man who has plied his craft for almost an entire half century with ever new, inexhaustible, genuinely amazing power, and became the greatest benefactor of German instrumental music. Johann Ferdinand Ritter von Schnfeld, author of A Yearbook of the Music of Vienna and Prague in 1796, holds Haydn in similarly high esteem, waxing lyrical about his string quartets: [they] are full of bewitching harmonies, and have this special quality of immediately attracting ones attention, holding it and moving on, as in a labyrinth, through flowering meadows, past babbling brooks, alongside roaring streams.


Joseph Haydn (1732-1809)

String Quartet Op. 20, no. 3 in G minor
1 Allegro con spirito 5.44
2 Menuetto. Allegretto 4.48
3 Poco Adagio 7.39
4 Finale. Allegro molto 5.41

String Quartet Op. 74, no. 1 in C major
5 Allegro Moderato 7.03
6 Andantino grazioso 5.34
7 Menuetto. Allegretto 4.42
8 Finale. Vivace 5.41

String Quartet Op. 76, no. 1 in G major
9 Allegro con spirito 5.49
10 Adagio sostenuto 6.18
11 Menuetto. Presto 2.57
12 Allegro ma non troppo 6.08

The Amsterdam String Quartet:
Alida Schat violin – George Panormo, date unknown
John Wilson Meyer violin – anonymus, Mittenwald early 18e century
Jane Rogers viola – Patrick Robin 2006 France (Lent by kind permission of Elise Becket-Smith)
Thomas Pitt cello – Guust François 1999 (after large model Amati)

Recorded: Doopsgezinde Kerk of Deventer, the Netherlands, 25-27 August 2006


%d bloggers like this: