Rafael Kubelik, Royal Concertgebouw & Boston Symphony Orchestra – Beethoven: Symphonies 2 & 5 (1973-74) [Reissue 2017] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Rafael Kubelik, Royal Concertgebouw & Boston Symphony Orchestra – Beethoven: Symphonies 2 & 5 (1973-74) [Reissue 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 72:18 minutes | Scans included | 2,92 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,4 GB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | PentaTone # PTC 5186 249

Dating from the 1970s, Rafael Kubelik’s incisive and acclaimed reading of Beethoven’s second and fifth symphonies in the Remastered Classics series from Pentatone, performed with panache by the Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra and the Boston Symphony Orchestra.

Rafael Kubelik recorded his cycle of Beethoven symphonies in the 1970s for Deutsche Grammophon, each with a different orchestra, earning widespread praise. Although recorded in multi-channel sound, these unmissable performances have previously been available only in the conventional two-channel stereo format. Using state of the art technology which avoids the need for re-mixing, PENTATONE’s engineers have remastered the original studio tapes to bring the performances to life as originally intended: in compelling and pristine multi-channel sound.

For a work that was written during an unhappy period of his life, Beethoven’s second symphony nevertheless bristles with infectious humour and vitality. Its striking innovations startled contemporary audiences, from the imposing opening to the capricious scherzo and the witty, energetic finale, but Beethoven’s indebtedness to the classical symphonies of Haydn and Mozart are still quite apparent. Goethe described Beethoven’s turbulent fifth symphony as “very great, quite wild; it makes one fear that the house might fall down.” Its visceral energy is announced right from the start with its famous opening notes whose hammer blows drive the development of the symphony – from the dark, brooding drama of the opening movement to the spectacular and radiant outburst in the triumphant final movement. It’s one of Beethoven’s most riveting and compelling works and one of his deservedly most popular.


01. Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36 – Adagio molto – Allegro con brio
02. Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36 – Larghetto
03. Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36 – Scherzo (Allegro)
04. Symphony No.2 in D, Op.36 – Allegro molto
05. Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67 – Allegro con brio
06. Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67 – Andante con moto
07. Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67 – Allegro
08. Symphony No.5 in C minor, Op.67 – Allegro

Royal Concertgebouw Orchestra (Tracks “1-4”)
Boston Symphony Orchestra (Tracks “5-8”)
Conducted by Rafael Kubelik

Recorded in February 1974 at Concertgebouw, Amsterdam. (Tracks “1-4”)
and in November 1973 at Symphony Hall, Boston (Tracks “5-8”)
Original Quadrophonic Recording. Remastered in 2017.







%d bloggers like this: