Morton Gould and his Symphonic Band – Brass and Percussion (1957/59/1993) [Japanese Reissue 2005] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Morton Gould and his Symphonic Band – Brass and Percussion (1957/59/1993) [Japanese Reissue 2005]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:00 minutes | Scans included | 3,11 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,63 GB
Big Band excitement | Living Stereo 82876-66371-2 | Features 2.0 and 3.0 multichannel surround sound

Morton Gould’s Brass & Percussion is an artifact from the halcyon days of high fidelity, a lost era when “Radio Row” in New York City was bursting at the seams with shops selling every kind of cutting-edge audio gear to hi-fi enthusiasts eager to blow away their wives, neighbors, and everyone else with big audio systems. Forthwith, Brass & Percussion has a BIG sound — recorded in Manhattan Center with classic Neumann U-47 microphones and a huge symphonic band made up of crack East Coast professionals.

RCA Victor decided to commence recording in stereo starting in 1953, figuring that before long, consumer-grade systems would catch up to the technology. RCA began issuing stereo tapes in 1955; vinyl albums finally did catch up in 1958. The digital compact disc version of Brass & Percussion, compiled by RCA producer John Pfeiffer in 1993, consists of two albums. Tracks 1 through 17 originate with the 1956 mono LP Brass & Percussion issued as LM 2080, although not all of these appeared at the time. The remaining ten tracks were recorded in 1959 and are culled from LSC SD 2308, Doubling in Brass, a rare item as a vinyl album despite winning a Grammy in the engineering category. Despite its vintage, all of the selections are in stereo on the CD.

As to the performances, Morton Gould’s own original music and arrangements come off the best, with his all-percussion work Parade being an especial sonic treat. The CD version of Brass & Percussion contains 14 Sousa marches, and while they are adequate performances, the “Living Stereo” recording tends to favor the high winds, percussion, and reverberation. The interpretation of Sousa, while enthusiastic and distinctive, is not as focused as it is for the other 13 pieces. Nonetheless, Brass & Percussion is an achievement in technical terms that was second to none in its day, and listeners will hardly believe such a live-sounding, loud, and powerful recording was made five decades ago.


01. The Stars and Stripes Forever
02. Parade (for Percussion)
03. On Parade
04. Semper Fidelis
05. Jubilee
06. Fourth of July
07. Hands Across the Sea
08. Battle Hymn (based on Steffe: Battle Hymn of the Republic)
09. On the Mall
10. National Emblem
11. The Thunderer
12. American Youth March
13. The Chimes of Liberty
14. Happy Go Lucky
15. Washington Post
16. The Gladiator
17. El Capitan
18. The U. S. Field Artillery March
19. Dixie
20. The High School Cadets
21. Sound Off
22. The Corcoran Cadets March
23. American Patrol
24. Yankee Doodle
25. Manhattan Beach
26. National Fencibles March
27. Jericho

Recorded: October 17, 19 and 26, 1956 (1-17); January 22 and 23, 1959 (18-27) at Manhattan Center, NYC.
Produced by John Pfeiffer. Recording Engineer: Lewis Layton. Mastering Engineer: Mark Donahue. DSD Engineer: Dirk Sobotka.
Remastering Supervisor: John Newton. Reissue Producer: Daniel Guss. Series Coordination: Tim Schumacher.

First Release:
Tracks 1-17: LM/LSC-2080 (March 1957, titled “Brass and Percussion”)
Tracks 18-27: LSC/LM-2308 (August 1959, titled “Doubling Brass”)



%d bloggers like this: