Eugen Jochum, German Opera Orchestra & Chorus – Carl Orff: Carmina Burana (1968) [Japan 2019] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Eugen Jochum, German Opera Orchestra & Chorus – Carl Orff: Carmina Burana (1968) [Japan 2019]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:13 min | Basic Scans incl. | 2,3 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Basic Scans included | 1,21 GB
Japanese SACD Reissue 2019 | Deutsche Grammmophon / Esoteric Company, Japan # ESSG-90206

Jochum’s version of Carmina Burata leaves the rest behind. Jochum’s baritone Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau in particular is the best baritone soloist for this work. The soprano, Gundula Janowitz, finds a quiet dignity for her contribution and this is finely done. The chorus are best when the music blazes, and the closing scene is moulded by Jochum with a wonderful control, almost Klemperian in its restrained power. The sound might be mid 1960’s DG analogue but the performance leaves the rest way behind. Jochum’s version was recorded in the presence of Carl Orff and is authorised by Carl Orff.

Since its original release, Jochum’s performance has consistently been a prime recommendation for this much-recorded piece. Listening to it again in the superbly remastered sound, one can easily hear why. He pays great attention to detail – particularly with regard to tempo and articulation – yet the performance as a whole has a tremendous cogent sweep and the choruses have terrific power. The more reflective sections are not neglected, however, and movements such as ”Stetit Puella”, with Janowitz sounding alluring and fey, have surely never been more sensitively handled. Stolze is ideal as the roasted swan and Fischer-Dieskau encompasses the very varied requirements of the baritone’s music with ease. In spite of the presence of more than 30 rivals in the catalogue, this distinguished performance, authorized by the composer and now sounding better than ever, easily retains its place at the head of the queue.


01. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: O Fortuna
02. Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi: Fortune plango vulnera
03. Primo vere: Veris leta facies
04. Primo vere: Omnia Sol temperat
05. Primo vere: Ecce gratum
06. Uf dem anger: Tanz
07. Uf dem anger: Floret silva nobilis
08. Uf dem anger: Chramer, gip die varwe mir
09. Uf dem anger: Reie – Swaz hie gat umbe – Chume, chum, geselle min! – Swaz hie gat umbe
10. Uf dem anger: Were diu werlt alle min
11. In Taberna: Estuans interius
12. In Taberna: Olim lacus colueram
13. Ego sum abbas
14. In Taberna: In taberna quando sumus
15. Cour d’Amours: Amor volat undique
16. Cour d’Amours: Dies, nox et omnia
17. Cour d’Amours: Stetit puella
18. Cour d’Amours: Circa mea pectora
19. Cour d’Amours: Si puer cum puellula
20. Cour d’Amours: Veni, veni, venias
21. Cour d’Amours: In trutina
22. Cour d’Amours: Tempus est iocundum
23. Cour d’Amours: Dulcissime
24. Carmina Burana: Blanziflor et Helena: Ave, formosissima
25. Carmina Burana: Fortuna Imperatrix Mundi – O Fortuna

Gundula Janowitz – soprano
Gerhard Stolze – tenor
Dietrich Fischer-Dieskau – baritone
Schöneberger Sängerknaben, chorus master: Walter Hagen-Groll
Chor und Orchester der Deutschen Oper Berlin (Chorus and Orchestra of the German Opera Berlin)
Eugen Jochum – conductor

Recorded in October 1967 at UFA-Tonstudio, Berlin.
Re-Mastering Producer: Motoaki Ohmachi (ESOTERIC Company)
DSD Mastering Engineer: Kazuie Sugimoto (JVC Mastering Center Daikanyama Studio)

Technical note:
The criterion of re-mastering is to faithfully capture the quality of the original master. ESOTERIC’s flag ship D/A converters, model D-01VU, Rubidium master clock generator model Grandioso G1 and ESOTERIC MEXCEL interconnect cables and power cords, were all used for this re-mastering session. This combination of highly advanced technology greatly contributed to capturing the high quality sound of the original master.



%d bloggers like this: