Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 3 & Symphony No 5 (2014) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Denis Matsuev, Mariinsky Orchestra, Valery Gergiev – Prokofiev: Piano Concerto No 3 & Symphony No 5 (2014)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 70:38 minutes | Front + Digital Booklet | 3,92 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front + Digital Booklet | 2,78 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96kHz | Front + Digital Booklet | 1,42 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Label: Mariinsky # MAR0549

The Mariinsky label presents the recording of two of Sergei Prokofiev’s most popular works, Piano Concerto No 3 and Symphony No 5. Denis Matsuev features as soloist, in this his fourth recording on the Mariinsky label. Since winning the 11th International Tchaikovsky Competition in 1998 Matsuev has established a reputation as one of Russia’s leading pianists and is renowned for his interpretations of Russian music.

Since 2010, Denis Matsuev has put out an exciting run of recordings with Valery Gergiev and the Mariinsky Orchestra, playing the Russian concerto repertoire with extraordinary power and fire. The Piano Concerto No. 3 in C major is the most popular of Sergey Prokofiev’s five piano concertos, and Matsuev gives the performance his special combination of brilliant technique and muscular energy. The solo part in the outer movements is virtuosic and highly percussive, and Matsuev’s attacks are quite metallic and spiky, though this tone is contrasted with smoother phrasing and a rounder quality in the second movement’s set of variations. Yet even here are displays of prestidigitation that call for a penetrating edge, and Matsuev’s playing cuts through the rather heavy orchestral accompaniment every time. The concerto is paired with Prokofiev’s Symphony No. 5 in B flat major, and this is an odd choice, considering that Matsuev’s previous releases with Mariinsky have included two concertos each. Yet because this is one of Sergei Prokofiev’s most popular symphonies, second only to the “Classical” Symphony in its audience appeal, the choice seems sound, especially if Matsuev and Gergiev were counting on this album to win new fans. The sound of this hybrid SACD is generally clear and deep, though the orchestra occasionally seems bass heavy and a little murky.


01. Piano Concerto No 3: I. Andante – Allegro
02. Piano Concerto No 3: II. Tema con variazioni
03. Piano Concerto No 3: III. Allegro, ma non troppo
04. Symphony No 5: I. Andante
05. Symphony No 5: II. Allegro marcato
06. Symphony No 5: III. Adagio
07. Symphony No 5: IV. Allegro giocoso

Denis Matsuev – piano
The Orchestra of the Mariinsky Theatre
Valery Gergiev – Conductor

Produced, Engineered & Editing by by Vladimir Ryabenko.
Piano Concerto No 3 – Recorded on June 19-20, 2012 at the Concert Hall of the Mariinsky Theatre, Saint Petersburg, Russia.
Symphony No 5 – Recorded on April 12, 2012 at the Moscow Conservatoire, Moscow, Russia.




%d bloggers like this: