Akiko Suwanai, Philharmonia Orchestra, Charles Dutoit – Poeme (2004) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Akiko Suwanai, Philharmonia Orchestra, Charles Dutoit – Poème (2004)
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 67:06 minutes | Scans included (PDF) | 3,74 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Scans included (PDF) | 1,38 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel Surround Sound | Decca/Philips # 475618-9

Award-winning violinist Akiko Suwanai is backed by the City of Philharmonia Orchestra conducted by Charles Dutoit for this recording of compositional works by Saint-Saëns, Lalo, Chausson, Kreisler, Berlioz, and Ravel. This music here is a collection of pieces that fall just short of “major” concertos (more like encore pieces) though Akiko Suwanai does them full justice!!!! Particularly, the Saint-Saens “Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso” and Ravel’s “Tzigane” are top notch. Ms. Suwanai plays with a great deal of warmth, personality, and maturity that allows her Strad to really sing! The recording is top notch, with the violin a bit forward and the orchestra back a ways.


01. Camille Saint-Saëns: Introduction et Rondo Capriccioso, Op.28
02. Camille Saint-Saëns: Saint-Saëns: Havanaise, Op.83
03. Edouard Lalo: Guitare, Op.28
04. Ernest Chausson: Poème, Op.25
05. Fritz Kreisler: Sicilienne e Rigaudon (in the style of François Francoeur)
06. Fritz Kreisler: La Précieuse (in the style of Louis Couperin)
07. Hector Berlioz: Rêverie et Caprice, Op.8
08. Maurice Ravel: Tzigane

Akiko Suwanai – violin
Philharmonia Orchestra
Charles Dutoit – Conductor

Produced by Dominic Fyfe. Engineered by Jonathan Stokes.
Recorded on February 2-4, 2004 at The Colosseum, Watford.
Edited by Ian Watson. SACD Surround Mix by Philip Siney.





%d bloggers like this: