The Cal Tjader Quintet – Latin + Jazz = Cal Tjader (1968) [Audio Fidelity 2003] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Cal Tjader Quintet – Latin + Jazz = Cal Tjader (1968) [Audio Fidelity 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 44:54 minutes | Scans included | 1,8 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 874 MB
Remastered by Steve Hoffman | Audio Fidelity # AFZ-004

TVibraphonist Cal Tjader is in typically fine form on this live set from 1968. His quintet at the time featured Armand Perazza on congas and pianist Joe Kloess and his repertoire ranged from Afro-Cuban jazz to occasional straightahead tunes. Six of the eight selections on this date are originals by band members or Gary McFarland. Although Tjader had been playing this style of music for 15 years by this time, he still was quite creative and enthusiastic, and is heard throughout in excellent form.


01. Armando’s Quajira
02. Armando’s Bossa
03. Why Did I Choose You
04. Milo’s Other Samba
05. Song For Pat
06. The Touch
07. Colorado Waltz
08. Nica’s Dream

Cal Tjader – vibes
Armando Perazza – congas
Joe Kloess – piano
Paul Warburton – bass
Mike Buono – drums

Remastered by Steve Hoffman at Kevin Gray’s AcouTech Mastering, Camarillo, CA.



%d bloggers like this: