The Tiptons – Surrounded By Horns (2004) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Tiptons – Surrounded By Horns (2004)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 49:18 minutes | Scans included | 3,37 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,01 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Stockfisch Records # SFR 357.4034.2

THE TIPTONS from Seattle, USA. These are Amy Denio, Jessica Lurie, Tobi Stone, Sue Orfield and Elizabeth Pupo-Walker. Elements of swing, klezmer, big band, pop and Eastern European nuances interwoven with occasional strains of gypsy music are blended together to craft that ultimate, inimitable TIPTONS’ sound. Four Saxophones plus percussion.

The music is not your typical mix of jazz standards and light classical fare of most sax ensembles. These are mostly originals by members of the ensemble, though things are kicked off with a piece from the unique Raymond Scott. Meandering among big band swing, klezmer, gypsy music, pop and various European folk elements, the quintet provides a refreshing take on the usual sax quartet. The sonic side also provides something new: The DSD format was retained throughout the entire recording/editing/mixing/mastering. An eight-track SADIE system was used, with six channels comprising the SACD surround setup and the remaining two for a mixed-on-the-spot stereo mix. No EQ or reverb was added to any of the mixes, so the surround option sounds terrifically alive and with great presence. This is a winner both musically and sonically – especially surroundingly.


01. The Penguin
02. Calder’s Circus
03. Gypsy Wedding
04. Sahel
05. Vorrei dire due parole
06. After Before
07. Dreamsville
08. 12 Days
09. Crni Vlak (Black Train)



%d bloggers like this: