The Sugar Plum Fairies – Hey Bulldog (2005) MCH SACD ISO

The Sugar Plum Fairies – Hey Bulldog (2005)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 60:31 minutes | Scans included | 3,3 GB
The auduofiles may use this disc as test for their systems / The melomans may use this disc as entertainment

This SACD proves that rock can have the realism of classical or jazz, according to the liner notes it was not recorded the way traditional rock music usually is, instead MDG recorded it just as they record traditional classical music. Realism and excitement are here in spades, this is sonically the best sounding recording of the bunch. Not a lot of music as it is also a test record but the music is great.

The Sugar Plum Fairies – founded in 2000; first performance on the rooftop of a department store in the city of Bremen as a homage to The Beatles who gave their last concert on the roof top of the Apple office building on January 30th in 1969. This performance wasn’t announced at all and lead to chaotic conditions on the streets. The Sugar Plum Fairies also performed without any announcement, the effect was similar.

In this part of the SACD different versions of Nowhere Man are presented for an active comparison. Only for the mono (Track 6) and ping pong – stereo versions (Track 7) filters were used to come closer to the historical sound of the first releases. (In the sixties those sound filters were needed mainly to compensate the disadvantages of the transference like for example the distortions and general lacks of quality in the reproduction chain). By the way, in the consequence there were loads of different mixes of the original material; collectors have the possibility to find up to 20 different versions of the same track on LP, CD, etc…


01. His Master’s Woof
02. Nowhere Man
03. Hey Bulldog
04. Blackbirds
05. I am the walrus +Bonus-Tracks:Nowhere Man (Mono Mix 65)
06. Nowhere Man (Stereo Mix 65)
07. He(a)r(e) the Difference
08. Nowhere Man (2+2+2 Sound)
09. Awakening Nature +Specials:Sound Tests (Silence)
10. Speaker Configuration
11. Level
12. Phase
13. Turn to Nowhere
14. Set Sub Subwoofer
15. Underdogs

More correct titles – see below (DR section)
More about recording(s) – read inside the booklet (German/English languages available)


%d bloggers like this: