The Moody Blues – Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (1971) [2007 Remaster] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Moody Blues – Every Good Boy Deserves Favour (1971) [2007 Remaster]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 39:47 minutes | Scans included | 2,4 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 47:25 mins | Scans | 917 MB
Remastered Reissue 2007 | Features Stereo & Surround Mix, manipulated from original Quadrophonic Master

The Moody Blues’ first real attempt at a harder rock sound still has some psychedelic elements, but they’re achieved with an overall leaner studio sound. The group was trying to take stock of itself at this time, and came up with some surprisingly strong, lean numbers (Michael Pinder’s Mellotron is surprisingly restrained until the final number, “The Balance”), which also embraced politics for the first time (“Question” seemed to display the dislocation that a lot of younger listeners were feeling during Vietnam). The surprisingly jagged opening track, “Question,” recorded several months earlier, became a popular concert number as well as a number two (or number one, depending upon whose chart one looks at) single. Graeme Edge’s “Don’t You Feel Small” and Justin Hayward’s “It’s Up to You” both had a great beat, but the real highlight here is John Lodge’s “Tortoise and the Hare,” a fast-paced number that the band used to rip through in concert with some searing guitar solos by Hayward. Ray Thomas’ “And the Tide Rushes In” (written in the wake of a fight with his wife) is one of the prettiest psychedelic songs ever written, a sweetly languid piece with some gorgeous shimmering instrumental effects. The 1997 remastered edition brings out the guitar sound with amazing force and clarity, and the notes tell a lot about the turmoil the band was starting to feel after three years of whirlwind success.


01. Procession
02. The Story In Your Eyes
03. Our Guessing Game
04. Emily’s Song
05. After You Came
06. One More Time To Live
07. Nice To Be Here
08. You Can Never Go Home
09. My Song
10. The Story In Your Eyes (Original Version) [Bonus Track – Stereo only]
11. The Dreamer [Bonus Track – Stereo only]

The 2007 Edition researched, compiled and produced by Mark Powell.
Album Stereo mix remastered from the original master tapes by Alberto Parodi and Justin Hayward at Logical Box studios, Genova, Italy.
5.1 Surround Sound mix manipulated from the original Quadraphonic Masters by Paschal Byrne and Mark Powell at The Audio Archiving Company, London.
Bonus tracks remastering by Paschal Byrne at the Audio Archiving Company, London, U.K.



%d bloggers like this: