Various Artists – Footloose: Original Soundtrack (1984) [Reissue 2001] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Various Artists – Footloose: Original Soundtrack (1984) [Reissue 2001]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 54:54 minutes | Scans included | 2,21 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,12 GB

Footloose is a story of triumph and celebration, with music giving voice to youth’s desire for freedom of expression, and revitalizing the spirit of a community. The soundtrack, described as the pop soundtrack of the ’80s, has become a phenomenon. Now, in celebration of its 15th Anniversary, Footloose has been remastered from the original sources to sound better then ever, and features 4 bonus tracks.

Footloose was a throwback to ’50s rock & roll movies, with a silly plot about a town where it was illegal to dance. It was a major hit, as was its soundtrack, which spent a grand total of ten weeks at number one and sold over seven million copies. It’s easy to see why — the album delivers its mainstream pop, anthemic rock, and light dance-pop with style and an abundance of hooks. Six of the nine tracks became Top 40 hits, and three — Kenny Loggins’ bouncy title song, the excellent power ballad “Almost Paradise” (a duet between Loverboy’s Mike Reno and Heart’s Ann Wilson), and Deniece Williams’ frothy, charming “Let’s Hear It for the Boy” — shot into the Top Ten. The sound and production of Footloose has dated badly — there is a reliance on synthesizers and drum machines that instantly announces that the record was made in 1984 — but that isn’t necessarily a weakness. Not only does it function as a time capsule of a certain moment in pop music history, but many of the songs are catchy enough to transcend their production. There’s nothing of substance on the Footloose soundtrack, but it’s a light, entertaining listen. Sometimes, that can be better than something substantial.


01. Kenny Loggins – Footloose
02. Deniece Williams – Let’s Hear It For The Boy
03. Mike Reno & Ann Wilson – Almost Paradise (Love Theme ‘Footloose’)
04. Bonnie Tyler – Holding Out For A Hero
05. Shalamar – Dancing In The Sheets
06. Kenny Loggins – I’m Free (Heaven Helps The Man)
07. Karla Bonoff – Somebody’s Eyes
08. Sammy Hagar – The Girl Gets Around
09. Moving Pictures – Never
10. Quiet Riot – Bang Your Head (Metal Health)
11. John Mellencamp – Hurts So Good
12. Foreigner – Waiting For A Girl Like You
13. Shalamar – Dancing In The Sheets (Extended 12″ Remix)



%d bloggers like this: