Ray Davies & The Button Down Brass – Themes From The Exorcist & Flashpoint (1974-75) [Reissue 2017] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Ray Davies & The Button Down Brass – Themes From The Exorcist & Flashpoint (1974-75) [Reissue 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 63:50 minutess | Scans included | 2,87 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,23 GB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Label: Vocalion # CDSML 8526

Two great albums from Ray “funky trumpet” Davies – not the lead singer of The Kinks, but a heck of a groovy British bandleader from the 70s! First up is an album of Themes From The Exorcist and other films – all familiar movie themes from the early 70s, penned by artists like Michel Legrand and Lalo Schifrin – but served up here by Ray’s Button Down Brass in a very cool style – compressed funk, ala the best crime/cop modes of the time – but with lots of individual touches that make the songs very different than the original versions! Titles include “Point Blank”, “Enter The Dragon”, “Klute”, “French Connection”, “Tubular Bells”, “Cops & Robbers”, and “Beyond Tomorrow”. Flashpoint continues with some great film themes again served up in the magic Ray Davies mode – a funky big band approach that makes the record every bit as compelling as the American Cop Shows album from Henry Mancini – but maybe groovier, too. Titles include “Kojak”, “Big Boss”, “Man With The Golden Gun”, “Mr Majestyk”, “Magnum Force”, “Fist Of Fury”, and “Airport 1975”.


01. The French Connection
02. Love Theme from The Getaway
03. Klute
04. The Magician
05. The Entertainer
06. Bullitt
07. Cops and Robbers
08. Enter the Dragon
09. Night Must Fall
10. Point Blank
11. Beyond Tomorrow
12. Tubular Bells
13. The Man with the Golden Gun
14. The Big Boss
15. Earthquake
16. Mr Majestyk
17. Love Said Goodbye
18. Kojak
19. Magnum Force
20. Gold
21. Live and Let Die
22. Airport 1975
23. We May Never Love Like this Again
24. Fist of Fury

Tracks “01-12” is “Themes From The Exorcist” (LP ‘1974)
Tracks “13-24” is “Flashpoint” (LP ‘1975).
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.







%d bloggers like this: