Jerry Goldsmith – The Great Train Robbery (1979) [Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Jerry Goldsmith – The Great Train Robbery (1979) [Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 35:56 minutes | Full Art (PDF) | 2,06 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Art (PDF) | 711 MB

Jerry Goldsmith’s remarkable 78/79 season saw the composer tackle a series of major movies with diverse subject matters and complement each of them with equally diverse and impressive scores. Amongst the thrillers, sci-fi, horror and drama came a hugely enjoyable period caper; The Great Train Robbery. A lighted hearted romp through Victorian England, directed by Michael Crichton, based on his book. Varése Sarabande have produced a welcome re-issue of this delightful Jerry Goldsmith score, presenting it as a multi channel SACD, though often lacking the dynamics and vibrancy of the Memoir CD, and elevated it to deluxe edition status by including extra music too, though sadly this is not the complete score. Apart from minor omissions, the key missing cue is of course Dead Willy, the music that accompanies Clean Willy as he is chased and then killed for betraying Pierce to the Police, oddly absent from the 24 track masters used here.


01. Main Title
02. Breakfast In Bed
03. No Respectable Gentleman
04. Clues
05. Rotten Row
06. The First Key / Bordello Raid
07. Kiddie Kaper
08. Street Attack / Casing the Station
09. Over the Wall
10. Night Entry
11. Double Wax Job
12. The Tombstone
13. Departure
14. The Gold Arrives
15. Torn Coat
16. End Title



%d bloggers like this: