Tower Of Power – Ain’t Nothing Stopping (1976) [Reissue 2016] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Tower Of Power – Ain’t Nothing Stopping (1976) [Reissue 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 38:11 minutes | Scans included | 1,67 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 760 MB
Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # 8523 | Genre: Soul

Ain’t Nothin’ Stoppin’ Us Now is an album by American R&B band Tower of Power released in 1976, their first record on Columbia Records. Ron Beck takes up the drummers spot after David Garibaldi exited for a second time. This also would be the last album to feature bassist Francis “Rocco” Prestia as he would go on an extended hiatus from the band until his return in 1986. It is also the only album to feature vocalist Edward McGee.

Edward McGee turned in mostly above-average performances on their first post-Lenny Williams release, but it was the beginning of the end for the group. With funk losing its foothold among R&B audiences, they couldn’t keep it together. Hearing this on compact disc (and it’s not one of Columbia’s better mastering jobs) reveals that McGee was an energetic, exuberant vocalist who held his own on uptempo tunes like “You Ought To Be Havin’ Fun” and the title song, but lacked Williams’ range or tonal quality on ballads. The group always had a weakness for ponderous message cuts, and “Can’t Stand To See The Slaughter” and “While We Went To The Moon” were well-intentioned but clumsy tracks. This was almost The Tower of Power’s swan song.


01. Ain’t Nothin’ Stoppin Us Now
02. By Your Side
03. Make Someone Happy
04. Doin Alright
05. Because I Think the World of You
06. You Ought to Be Havin Fun
07. Cant Stand to See the Slaughter
08. Its So Nice
09. Deal With It
10. While We Went to the Moon

Remastered from original analog tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: