Michael McDonald – Motown (2003) MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Michael McDonald – Motown (2003)
PS3 Rip | ISO | DST 64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:15 minutes | Scans included | 4,04 GB
or FLAC 2.0 (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,31 GB

Blue-eyed soul crooner Michael McDonald gave his career a much-needed shot in the arm with 2003’s Motown, a commercially well-received collection that matched the one-time Doobie Brother and ’80s solo star’s rich vocals with songs from Hitsville’s peak. Fans of Motown, The Doobie Brothers, and of course, Michael McDonald will love, “Motown”.

Michael McDonald never disguises what his seventh solo album is: the title Motown makes it clear that this 2003 effort is a tribute to the glory days of Berry Gordy’s Detroit empire. McDonald never strays too far from that thesis, occasionally dipping into the late ’70s for material (he takes on Marvin Gaye’s “I Want You”) and sometimes choosing to wax relatively obscure items from Motown’s vast, rich catalog, but for the most part, this is devoted to the songs that you know by heart, whether you were a kid in the ’60s or raised on oldies radio. Since this is McDonald, not a neo-soul neophyte, this is cleanly and sharply produced, relying heavily on synthesizers, drum machines, and professional vocalists, but anybody who has spent any time with his solo records will find this not to be objectionable, but par for the course. If McDonald doesn’t reinvent these songs — hell, he uses the original arrangements as a blueprint, then cleans them up — he does display a love and reverence for the work, and his singing is passionate throughout. Ultimately, Motown doesn’t add much to his discography, but for those who love McDonald and Motown in equal measures, it’s a fine listen.


01. I Heard It Through The Grapevine
02. You Are Everything
03. Signed, Sealed, Delivered I’m Yours
04. I’m Gonna Make You Love Me
05. Ain’t Nothing Like The Real Thing
06. Reflections
07. How Sweet It Is (To Be Loved By You)
08. Ain’t No Mountain High Enough
09. All In Love Is Fair
10. I Want You
11. Distant Lover
12. I Believe (When I Fall In Love It Will Be Forever)
13. Since I Lost My Baby
14. Too High







%d bloggers like this: