Macy Gray – The Trouble With Being Myself (2003) DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Macy Gray – The Trouble With Being Myself (2003)
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/2,82 MHz MHz | Time – 49:01 minutes | 1,93 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 49:01 minutes | 1,02 GB | Genre: R&B, Soul
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | © Epic

DSD file created by Gus Skinas from the original Sony Super Audio CD cutting masters.

In 1999, Macy Gray stepped onto the scene with her critically-acclaimed debut, On How Life Is. She would eventually become a Grammy Award winner and sell over nine million albums worldwide with On How Life Is and The ID. The Trouble With Being Myself is the third album from Macy. Once again, she hits us with that raspy but sexy voice that’s become so recognizable.

“I love it, it’s definitely the best album that I’ve made.” — Macy Gray

From her debut, Macy Gray has been too eccentric to qualify as a straight pop singer, but far too inconsistent to be truly called a great artist – except, of course, when considering her glorious whiskey-soaked voice. Her third album, The Trouble With Being Myself, is more of the same, a set of sub-standard songs with drowsy chord progressions, humdrum lyrics, and loose-limbed but musically comatose backing from her studio group (heavy on the Hammond organ). Gray still wields her hoarse yet tuneful voice like a genius, hitting every note she wants despite the cracks and never letting it sound overly contrived. Unfortunately, she also continues to be the victim of chart-focused, overly market-tested arrangements that never break out of the mold of soulful, organic R&B and pop. The single “When I See You” is pleasant but clearly a song that required no heavy lifting, and the most intriguing setup on the record – “It Ain’t the Money” featuring Pharoahe Monch and Beck – is surprisingly desultory as well. (Monch’s raps are uncharacteristically awkward, and Beck clumsily plays a stoner Timbaland with his background vocals.) After the unrepentant ego on display with her second album, The Id, the title here (as well as the cover shot, of Gray crouching in the corner of an abandoned house with a mistrustful look on her face) apparently speaks to the fact that Gray’s been persecuted for being “different.” But the commercial and critical indifference that greeted The Id wasn’t due to a lack of acceptance, but to a set of songs that was utterly average. That same lack of distinction plagues The Trouble With Being Myself. Blessed with a voice that immediately announces itself, Gray still hasn’t found a musical personality to complement it.


01 – When I See You
02 – It Ain’t The Money (featuring Pharoahe Monch)
03 – She Ain’t Right For You
04 – Things That Made Me Change
05 – Come Together
06 – She Don’t Write Songs About You
07 – Jesus For A Day
08 – My Fondest Childhood Memories
09 – Happiness
10 – Speechless
11 – Screamin’
12 – Every Now And Then



%d bloggers like this: