Todd Rundgren – A Wizard, A True Star (1973) [Reissue 2018] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Todd Rundgren – A Wizard, A True Star (1973) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 56:12 minutes | Scans included | 2,26 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,26 GB

A Wizard, a True Star is the fourth album by American musician Todd Rundgren, released on March 2, 1973. Its music was a significant departure from his previous album Something/Anything? (1972), which consisted largely of straightforward ballads. This LP featured in “1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die”. This 45th Anniversary Reissue, never before available on SACD, is the definitive sounding reissue of this landmark album.

Something/Anything? proved that Todd Rundgren could write a pop classic as gracefully as any of his peers, but buried beneath the surface were signs that he would never be satisfied as merely a pop singer/songwriter. A close listen to the album reveals the eccentricities and restless spirit that surges to the forefront on its follow-up, A Wizard, A True Star. Anyone expecting the third record of Something/Anything?, filled with variations on “I Saw the Light” and “Hello It’s Me,” will be shocked by A Wizard. As much a mind-f*ck as an album, A Wizard, A True Star rarely breaks down to full-fledged songs, especially on the first side, where songs and melodies float in and out of a hazy post-psychedelic mist. Stylistically, there may not be much new – he touched on so many different bases on Something/Anything? that it’s hard to expand to new territory – but it’s all synthesized and assembled in fresh, strange ways. Often, it’s a jarring, disturbing listen, especially since Rundgren’s humor has turned bizarre and insular. It truly takes a concerted effort on the part of the listener to unravel the record, since Rundgren makes no concessions – not only does the soul medley jerk in unpredictable ways, but the anthemic closer, “Just One Victory,” is layered with so many overdubs that it’s hard to hear its moving melody unless you pay attention. And that’s the key to understanding A Wizard, A True Star – it’s one of those rare rock albums that demands full attention and, depending on your own vantage, it may even reward such close listening.


01. International Feel
02. Never Never Land
03. Tic Tic Tic It Wears Off
04. You Need Your Head
05. Rock And Roll Pussy
06. Dogfight Giggle
07. You Don’t Have To Camp Around
08. Flamingo
09. Zen Archer
10. Just Another Onionhead / Da da Dali
11. When The Shit Hits The Fan / Sunset Blvd.
12. Le Feel Internacionale
13. Sometimes I Don’t Know What To Feel
14. Does Anybody Love You?
15. Medley
16. Hungry For Love
17. I Don’t Want To Tie You Down
18. Is It My Name?
19. Just One Victory

Mastered from the original stereo tapes by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.
Authored by Gus Skinas at the Super Audio Center.



%d bloggers like this: