The Kinks – Sleepwalker (1977) [Remastered 2004] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Kinks – Sleepwalker (1977) [Remastered 2004]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Scans included | 2,44 GB
SACD-ISO PS3 Rip to FLAC 2.0 | 24 bit / 88,2 kHz | 59:54 min | Scans included | 1,17 GB

Arista had made it clear they would not accept any concept albums from the Kinks, and Sleepwalker, their first effort for the label, makes good on the band’s promise. Comprised entirely of glossy arena rockers and power ballads, the album is more of a stylistic exercise than a collection of first-rate songs. Ray Davies contributed a handful of fairly strong songs, highlighted by the exceptional “Juke Box Music,” which sees him in a shockingly resigned frame of mind, claiming that rock & roll is just rock & roll, and nothing more. Unfortunately, he chose to illustrate that fact by loading the rest of Sleepwalker with competent but undistinguished mainstream rock. While that might have made the album a hit at the time, its processed sound and weak songs sound dated today, especially compared to the lively arena rock the Kinks later released.  ~~ AllMusic Review by Stephen Thomas Erlewine


01. Life on the Road
02. Mr. Big Man
03. Sleepwalker
04. Brother
05. Juke Box Music
06. Sleepless Night
07. Stormy Sky
08. Full Moon
09. Life Goes On
10. Artificial Light
11. Prince of the Punks
12. The Poseur
13. On the Outside (1977 mix)
14. On the Outside (1994 mix)



%d bloggers like this: