The Guess Who – Road Food & Number 10 (1974-1973) [Reissue 2018] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Guess Who – Road Food & Number 10 (1974-1973) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 72:54 minutess | Scans included | 3,36 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,65 GB
2LP on 1SACD | Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound | Vocalion # CDSML 8538

Canadian rock trailblazers The Guess Who are spotlighted on a disc that unites arguably their two finest latter-era albums, 1973’s #10 and 1974’s Road Food.

Recorded in the immediate wake of Artificial Paradise’s disappointment (and released just five months later), #10 acts as something of a diary for how the group was feeling at the time, chronicling their collective exhaustion, disappointment and frustration. In contrast to its weary lyrical tone however, #10 finds a band at its peak both instrumentally and vocally, battle-hardened from nearly a year of relentless touring. From tracks like the frenetic Musicione (a remarkable combination of searing lead guitar and gorgeous vocal harmonies) and the epic rocker Cardboard Empire to country-inflected gems like Lie Down and Take It Off My Shoulders, #10 boasts a depth in both songwriting and playing that the band’s earlier pop hits would struggle to match.

Released in April 1974, Road Food covered many of the same topics as #10, but it also showed a realisation amongst the band that it didn’t have to entirely abandon its AM pop roots in pursuit of FM album credibility. The result was not only a more varied album, but also a more commercially successful one. The album’s first single, Star Baby, was a moderate hit, and its second single, Clap for The Wolfman (featuring a vocal cameo from legendary DJ Wolfman Jack) reached No. 6 in the US charts, making it the group’s first US Top 10 hit since 1970. Counterbalancing the album’s radio-friendly singles are some of the band’s best deeper album tracks, from the ominous One Way Road to Hell to the barbershop-meets-jazz (with a twist) of Straighten Out to the epic seven-minute album closer, The Ballad of The Last Five Years.


01. Star Baby
02. Attilas Blues
03. Straighten Out
04. Dont You Want Me
05. One Way Road to Hell
06. Clap for the Wolfman
07. Pleasin for Reason
08. Road Food
09. Ballad of the Last Five Years
10. Take it Off My Shoulders
11. Musicione
12. Miss Frizzy
13. Glamour Boy
14. Self Pity
15. Lie Down
16. Cardboard Empire
17. Just Let Me Sing

Tracks “01-09” is “Road Food” (LP ‘1974)
Tracks “09-17” is “#10” (LP ‘1973).
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: