The Doors – Morrison Hotel (1970/2012) DSF DSD64

The Doors – Morrison Hotel (1970/2012)
DSF Stereo DSD64, 1 bit/2,82 MHz | Time – 37:30  minutes | 1,48 GB | Genre: Rock
Studio Masters, Official Digital Download – Source: AcousticSounds | Front Cover | ©  Analogue Productions XAPP75007D64

Rolling Stone proclaimed that Morrison Hotel opens “with a powerful blast of raw funk called ‘Roadhouse Blues’. It features jagged barrelhouse piano, fierce guitar, and one of the most convincing raunchy vocals Jim Morrison has ever recorded.”

In short, the harsh brilliance of “Roadhouse Blues” was its angry hard rock manner, brought to fore in brooding fashion with a chillingly true Morrison lyric: “I woke up this morning and I got myself a beer/The future’s uncertain and the end is always near.”

Making it one of The Doors’ best-ever tracks, “Roadhouse Blues” was joined as praise-worthy in Rolling Stones’ review by the buoyant catchiness of another Morrison Hotel single, “Land Ho.” “A chanty that sets you rocking and swaying on first listen and never fails to bring a smile every time it’s repeated.”

Analogue Productions and Quality Record Pressings are proud to announce that six studio LP titles — The Doors, Strange Days, Waiting For The Sun, Soft Parade, Morrison Hotel and L.A. Woman — are featured on 200-gram vinyl, pressed at 45 rpm. All six titles are also available on Hybrid Multichannel SACD! All were cut from the original analog masters by Doug Sax, with the exception of The Doors, which was made from the best tape copy.

The Doors returned to crunching, straightforward hard rock on Morrison Hotel, an album that, despite yielding no major hit singles, returned them to critical favor with hip listeners. An increasingly bluesy flavor began to color the songwriting and arrangements, especially on the party’n’booze anthem “Roadhouse Blues.” Airy mysticism was still present on “Waiting for the Sun,” “Queen of the Highway,” and “Indian Summer”; “Ship of Fools” and “Land Ho!” struck effective balances between the hard rock arrangements and the narrative reach of the lyrics. “Peace Frog” was the most political and controversial track, documenting the domestic unrest of late-’60s America before unexpectedly segueing into the restful ballad “Blue Sunday.” “The Spy,” by contrast, was a slow blues that pointed to the direction that would fully blossom on L.A. Woman. –AllMusic Review by Richie Unterberger


1 Roadhouse Blues 4:04
2 Waiting for the Sun 3:59
3 You Make Me Real 2:53
4 Peace Frog 2:50
5 Blue Sunday 2:13
6 Ship of Fools 3:08
7 Land Ho! 4:10
8 The Spy 4:17
9 Queen of the Highway 2:47
10 Indian Summer 2:36
11 Maggie M’Gill 4:24

Jim Morrison – lead vocals, maracas, tambourine
Ray Manzarek – tack piano on tracks 3 and 8, Gibson G-101 organ on tracks 2 and 5, Vox Continental organ on tracks 4, 6, 7 and 10, piano on tracks 1 and 8, Wurlitzer electric piano on track 9, Fender Rhodes Piano Bass on track 10, Hammond C-3 organ on track 11, RMI Electra piano on track 2.
Robby Krieger – guitar
John Densmore – drums
Lonnie Mack – bass guitar on tracks 1 and 11
Ray Neapolitan – bass guitar on tracks 2 to 9
John Sebastian (as “G. Puglese”) – harmonica on track 1

Recorded: August 1966, November 1969 – January 1970, Elektra Sound Recorders, Los Angeles, California
Mastered by Doug Sax using an all-tube system. Overseen by Bruce Botnick, The Doors producer/engineer. DSD files created from the Analogue Productions SACD cutting master by Gus Skinas.


%d bloggers like this: