The Beach Boys – Today! (1965) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2014] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Beach Boys – Today! (1965) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2014]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 29:08 minutes | Scans included | 1,18 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 515 MB

Brian Wilson’s retirement from performing to concentrate on studio recording and production reaped immediate dividends with Today!, the first Beach Boys album that is strong almost from start to finish. “Dance, Dance, Dance” and “Do You Wanna Dance” were upbeat hits with Spector-influenced arrangements, but Wilson began to deal with more sophisticated themes on another smash 45, “When I Grow Up,” on which these eternal teenagers looked forward to the advancing years with fear and uncertainty. Surf/hot rod/beach themes were permanently retired in favor of late-adolescent, early-adult romance on this album, which included such decent outings in this vein as “She Knows Me Too Well,” “Kiss Me Baby,” and “In the Back of My Mind.” The true gem is “Please Let Me Wonder,” one of the group’s most delicate mid-’60s works, with heartbreaking melodies and harmonies. Be aware that the version of “Help Me, Rhonda” found here is an inferior, earlier, and slower rendition; the familiar hit single take was included on their next album, Summer Days (And Summer Nights!!).


01. Do You Wanna Dance?
02. Good To My Baby
03. Don’t Hurt My Little Sister
04. When I Grow Up (To Be A Man)
05. Help Me, Rhonda
06. Dance, Dance, Dance
07. Please Let Me Wonder
08. I’m So Young
09. Kiss Me, Baby
10. She Knows Me Too Well
11. In the Back Of My Mind
12. Bull Session With “Big Daddy”

DSD flat transferred from U.S. original analogue master tapes.



%d bloggers like this: