The Beach Boys – Surfin’ USA (1963) [APO Remaster 2015] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Beach Boys – Surfin’ USA (1963) [APO Remaster 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 Stereo & Mono 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 24:02 / 24:23 minutes | Scans included | 1,98 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Stereo | 24:23 mins | Full Scans included | 461 MB

The real breakthrough, as Brian Wilson asserts himself in the studio as both songwriter and arranger on a set of material that was much stronger than Surfin’ Safari. Besides the hit title track and its popular drag-racing flip side (“Shut Down”), this has a lovely, heartbreaking ballad (“Lonely Sea”) and a couple of strong Brian Wilson originals (“The Noble Surfer” and “Farmer’s Daughter”). There are also a surprisingly high quotient of instrumentals (five) that demonstrate that, before session musicians took over most of the parts, the Beach Boys could play respectably gutsy surf rock as a self-contained unit. Indeed, the album as a whole is the best they would make, prior to the late ’60s, as a band that played most of their instruments, rather than as a vehicle for Brian Wilson’s ideas. The LP was a huge hit, vital to launching surf music as a national craze, and one of the few truly strong records to be recorded by a self-contained American rock band prior to the British Invasion.


01. Surfin’ USA
02. Farmer’s Daughter
03. Misirlou
04. Stoked
05. Lonely Sea
06. Shut Down
07. Noble Surfer
08. Honky Tonk
09. Lana
10. Surf Jam
11. Let’s Go Trippin
12. Finders Keepers

Mastered fo this SACD by Kevin Gray at Cohearent Audio.



%d bloggers like this: