The Beach Boys – Shut Down Vol.2 (1964) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2014] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Beach Boys – Shut Down Vol.2 (1964) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2014]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 27:29 minutes | Scans included | 1.11 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 529 MB

Another erratic early album from the Beach Boys; few other rock LPs have such a wide gap between the best and worst material. On the good side, you have absolute classics in the Chuck Berry-ish “Fun, Fun, Fun” and the superb “Don’t Worry Baby,” one of the most advanced pop productions of 1964 with its breathtaking harmonies and unusual lyric. “The Warmth of the Sun” is one of the most melodic (and melancholic) ballads they ever recorded, and “Why Do Fools Fall in Love” is one of their best oldies covers. Yet the rest reduces the oceanic scale of the classics to dishwater, whether they’re throwaway hot rod tunes and instrumentals, innocuous high-school romantic ditties, or a soulless cover of “Louie Louie.” When this album hit the racks in early 1964, the Beatles were proving that you could make LPs that were all killer, no filler; the Beach Boys would soon be forced to up their ante.


01. Fun, Fun, Fun
02. Don’t Worry Baby
03. In The Parkin’ Lot
04. “Cassius” Love Vs. “Sonny” Wilson
05. The Warmth Of The Sun
06. This Car Of Mine
07. Why Do Fools Fall In Love
08. Pom Pom Play Girl
09. Keep An Eye On Summer
10. Shut Down, Part II
11. Louie Louie
12. Denny’s Drums

DSD flat transferred from U.S. original analogue master tapes.



%d bloggers like this: