Santana – Abraxas (1970) [Japanese SACD 2001] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Santana – Abraxas (1970) [Japanese SACD 2001]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 50:36 minutes | Scans included | 2,07 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,01 GB
Features the 1998 Remastering on SACD format

The San Francisco Bay Area rock scene of the late ’60s was one that encouraged radical experimentation and discouraged the type of mindless conformity that’s often plagued corporate rock. When one considers just how different Santana, Jefferson Airplane, Moby Grape, and the Grateful Dead sounded, it becomes obvious just how much it was encouraged. In the mid-’90s, an album as eclectic as Abraxas would be considered a marketing exec’s worst nightmare. But at the dawn of the 1970s, this unorthodox mix of rock, jazz, salsa, and blues proved quite successful. Whether adding rock elements to salsa king Tito Puente’s “Oye Como Va,” embracing instrumental jazz-rock on “Incident at Neshabur” and “Samba Pa Ti,” or tackling moody blues-rock on Fleetwood Mac’s “Black Magic Woman,” the band keeps things unpredictable yet cohesive. Many of the Santana albums that came out in the ’70s are worth acquiring, but for novices, Abraxas is an excellent place to start.


01. Singing Winds, Crying Beasts
02. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen
03. Oye Como Va
04. Incident at Neshabur
05. Se a Cabo
06. Mother’s Daughter
07. Samba Pa Ti
08. Hope You’re Feeling Better
09. El Nicoya
10. Se a Cabo (Live) [Bonus track]
11. Toussaint L’Ouverture (Live) [Bonus track]
12. Black Magic Woman/Gypsy Queen (Live) [Bonus track]

Mastered by Vic Anesini at Sony Music Studios, New York.



%d bloggers like this: