Santana – Abraxas (1970) [Japan 2020] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Santana – Abraxas (1970) [Japan 2020]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 37:27 minutes | Basic Scans | 2,8 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Basic Scans included | 1,48 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | 37:21 m | Basic Scans | 867 MB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Sony Japan # SICJ 10135

Abraxas remains the consummate Latin rock album. The confident sound of Santana stretching out and carving out a distinctive new genre, the 1970 set is daubed with psychedelic accents and Afro-Latin grooves. This reissue becomes available as a multi-channel quad SACD Hybrid edition for the first time by Sony Japan. Converted from the original 1974 Quadraphonic master to DSD, plus the stereo mix mastered from the latest remastering.

The San Francisco Bay Area rock scene of the late ’60s was one that encouraged radical experimentation and discouraged the type of mindless conformity that’s often plagued corporate rock. When one considers just how different Santana, Jefferson Airplane, Moby Grape, and the Grateful Dead sounded, it becomes obvious just how much it was encouraged. In the mid-’90s, an album as eclectic as Abraxas would be considered a marketing exec’s worst nightmare. But at the dawn of the 1970s, this unorthodox mix of rock, jazz, salsa, and blues proved quite successful. Whether adding rock elements to salsa king Tito Puente’s “Oye Como Va,” embracing instrumental jazz-rock on “Incident at Neshabur” and “Samba Pa Ti,” or tackling moody blues-rock on Fleetwood Mac’s “Black Magic Woman,” the band keeps things unpredictable yet cohesive. Many of the Santana albums that came out in the ’70s are worth acquiring, but for novices, Abraxas is an excellent place to start.


01. Singing Winds, Crying Beasts
02. Black Magic Woman / Gypsy Queen
03. Oye Como Va
04. Incident at Neshabur
05. Se a Cabo
06. Mother’s Daughter
07. Samba Pa Ti
08. Hope You’re Feeling Better
09. El Nicoya

Carlos Santana – lead guitar, backing vocals
Gregg Rolie – keyboards, lead vocals
David Brown – bass
Michael Shrieve – drums
JosĂ© “Chepito” Areas – percussion, conga, timbales
Michael Carabello – percussion, conga

Recorded & Mixed on April 17 – May 2, 1970 at Pacific Recording, San Mateo, CA.
Original Quadrophonic Sound and Remix Supervision by Al Lawrence.
Quadrophonic Remix Engineer: Larry Keyes.




%d bloggers like this: