Ritchie Valens – Greatest Hits (2003) [Audio Fidelity SACD #AFZ-008] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Ritchie Valens – Greatest Hits (2003) [Audio Fidelity SACD #AFZ-008]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 38:22 minutes | Scans included | 1,57 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 406 MB
Genre: Rock | Audio Fidelity SACD #AFZ-008 | Compiled and Mastered by Steve Hoffman

Ritchie Valens was only 17 when he died in 1959. His musical legacy rests on about an album-and-a-half of completed studio material, a poorly recorded high school concert, and a handful of demos and rehearsal tapes, all of which present a problem for collections of this sort. If you include a full disc’s worth of music, you need to dip into unfinished or badly recorded material, which is a quality issue. On the other hand, if you only include finished studio projects, then you’ve got an extremely brief sequence on your hands. In the particular case of Valens, who had no real time to refine or develop his obvious talents, less is best, and that’s the route taken by the makers of this anthology. It includes Valens’ big hit, “La Bamba,” its flip side, “Donna” (which was actually the A-side, but “La Bamba” has emerged over time as Valens’ signature tune), a halting, beautiful version of “Bluebirds Over the Mountain,” and the oddly haunting “In a Turkish Town.” The sound here is as good as you’re going to get it, making this compilation an excellent purchase if you want to hear this young musician at his best. Collectors and serious fans should probably pick up one of the longer anthologies, since the demos and unfinished tracks most of them feature are certainly interesting, if hardly essential.


01 – La Bamba
02 – Come On, Let’s Go
03 – Donna
04 – That’s My Little Suzie
05 – Cry, Cry, Cry
06 – Stay Beside Me
07 – Dooby Dooby Wah
08 – In A Turkish Town
09 – The Paddi-Wack Song
10 – Hurry Up
11 – Bony Moronie
12 – We Belong Together
13 – Ooh! My Head
14 – Bluebirds Over The Mountain
15 – Fast Freight
16 – Framed
17 – That’s My Little Suzie (Alternate take)
18 – In A Turkish Town (Original demo)

Compiled & Mastered by Steve Hoffman from The Original Gold Star Studios Master Tapes.

Remastering Note:
It was a thrill for us to be able to use the original Ritchie Valens Gold Star Studio master tapes for the mastering of this special AUDIO FIDELITY SACD. The tapes are over 44 years old, and reveal the earthy excitement and groundbreaking musical artistry of the legendary 17 year old Ritchie Valens. We would like to thank Ritchie’s original producer Bob Keane, for bringing us the precious masters and for supervising the mastering session. Even though careful listening reveals some sonic shortcomings, inherent in the masters, we feel that this music deserves the deluxe High Resolution SACD treatment. Hence this disc. We hope you enjoy it.







%d bloggers like this: