Rick Derringer – All American Boy / Spring Fever (1973/1975) [Reissue 2018] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Rick Derringer – All American Boy / Spring Fever (1973/1975) [Reissue 2018]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 78:23 minutess | Scans included | 3,56 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,72 GB
2LP on 1SACD | Features Stereo & Multichannel Surround Sound | Vocalion # CDSML 8540 | Genre: Rock

Throughout the 70s and 80s Rick Derringer appeared on numerous albums by artists including Alice Cooper, Todd Rundgren, Steely Dan, Cyndi Lauper, Barbara Streisand and Kiss. This SACD compiling his debut and sophomore solo albums – “All American Boy” and “Spring Fever”.

When All American Boy was released in 1973, Derringer was only 25, but already an industry veteran of more than ten years – aged 16 with his group The McCoys he’d had a No. 1 hit with Hang On Sloopy, and the years following his professional apprenticeship had seen him playing with and producing both Johnny and Edgar Winter. All American Boy is best known for the hit single (and Derringer’s signature tune) Rock and Roll, Hoochie Koo, but the remainder of the album is consistently strong, showcasing Derringer’s talent across a range of styles from foot stompers (Teenage Love Affair) to country rockers (Cheap Perfume) to throwback pop (It’s Raining). Co-produced with frequent Eagles collaborator Bill Szymczyk and featuring contributions from Edgar Winter, Captain Beyond drummer Bobby Caldwell and Joe Walsh with his Barnstorm band, All American Boy is widely considered to be Derringer’s highpoint as a solo artist. Derringer was working at breakneck pace in the year following the release of All American Boy. In addition to an increasing profile as a session guitarist, which saw him playing on records for the likes of Steely Dan and Todd Rundgren, Derringer also found time to produce and play on both Johnny Winter’s Saints & Sinners and the Edgar Winter Group’s Shock Treatment albums. As a member of Winter’s group, he’d embark on a colossal five-month, seventy-date tour in 1974 to promote Shock Treatment, and his extended road sojourn would have a powerful effect on his second solo effort, 1975’s Spring Fever. A decidedly more arena-rock-oriented affair than All American Boy (especially on tracks like the anthemic Don’t Ever Say Goodbye), Spring Fever saw Derringer backed by a core rhythm section comprised of Utopia bassist John Siegler, Frampton’s Camel drummer John Siomos and his old compatriot Edgar Winter on keyboards. It also featured guest appearances from the likes of the New York Dolls’ David Johansen and Return to Forever’s Chick Corea. While Spring Fever failed to replicate All American Boy’s commercial success (its only single, a cod-reggae remake of Hang on Sloopy, was a minor chart hit) the album redeems itself in its deeper cuts. Amongst them are a swaggering cover of Rufus Thomas’ Walking the Dog and Derringer’s own autobiographical Skyscraper Blues (both of which allow him to show off his blues chops), while the criminally underrated Aerosmithesque rocker He Needs Some Answers is so catchy that the title may as well be questioning why the song was never released as a single.


01. Rock and Roll Hoochie Koo
02. Joy Ride
03. Teenage Queen
04. Cheap Tequila
05. Uncomplicated
06. Hold
07. The Airport Giveth
08. Teenage Love Affair
09. Its Raining
10. Time Warp
11. Slide On Over Slinky
12. Jump Jump Jump
13. Gimme More
14. Tomorrow
15. Dont Ever Say Goodbye
16. Still Alive and Well
17. Rock
18. Hang On Sloopy
19. Roll with Me
20. Walkin the Dog
21. He Needs Some Answers
22. Skyscraper Blues

Tracks “01-12” is “All American Boy” (LP ‘1973)
Tracks “13-22” is “Spring Fever” (LP ‘1975).
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.







%d bloggers like this: