Olivia Newton-John – Physical (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Olivia Newton-John – Physical (1981) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2012]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 38:17 minutes | Full Scans included | 1,55 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 748 MB

Uses the 2012 DSD master based on Japanese original analog tape. Reissue features the high-fidelity SHM-SACD format (fully compatible with standard SACD player, but it does not play on standard CD players). DSD Transferred from analogue master tapes by Masaru Takagi.

“Physical” became such a monster hit – not just a hit, but a pop-culture phenomenon that was impossible to escape – that it became difficult to view its accompanying album as anything other than a conduit for the single. The thing was, Physical was a damn good record, in many ways one of Olivia Newton-John’s very best. Picking up where Totally Hot and Xanadu left off, Physical skillfully balances catchy yet mellow dance cuts with immaculately crafted adult contemporary pop and ballads. The title track, of course, is the best example of the dance side, but “Landslide,” “Make a Move on Me,” and “Promise (Dolphin Song)” illustrate that Physical wasn’t a one-hit record at all – if anything, they hold up better than the big hit. There is some filler here – none of her records were free from that curse – but it’s well-made filler and helps make Physical one of the most enjoyable albums of her career.


01 – Landslide
02 – Stranger’s Touch
03 – Make A Move On Me
04 – Falling
05 – Love Makes Me Strong
06 – Physical
07 – Silvery Rain
08 – Carried Away
09 – Recovery
10 – The Promise (The Dolphin Song)

DSD Transferred from analogue master tapes by Masaru Takagi at Sunrise Studio (2012).







%d bloggers like this: