Elvis Presley – Elvis Is Back (1960) [Analogue Productions Remaster 2012] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Elvis Presley – Elvis Is Back (1960) [Analogue Productions Remaster 2012]
PS3 Rip | ISO | SACD DSD64 Stereo > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 31:57 minutes | Scans included | 1,3 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 629 MB

was Presley’s first album to be released in true stereo. It peaked at number two on the Top Pop Albums chart and is listed, along with his debut and From Elvis in Memphis, in the book 1001 Albums You Must Hear Before You Die. It was certified Gold on July 15, 1999, by the RIAA.

Although they have common recording origins, two of the three singles, “It’s Now or Never” and “Are You Lonesome Tonight,” were very quirky by the standards of Elvis songs at the time — the former inspired by Elvis’s admiration for Tony Martin’s 1949 hit “There’s No Tomorrow,” while the latter was recorded at the request of Col. Parker as a favor to his wife. They add to the diversity of sounds on this record, which shows a mature Elvis Presley. “Dirty, Dirty Feeling” and “It Feels So Right” showed he could still rock out and challenge authority and propriety, while “Reconsider Baby” and “Like a Baby” offer some of his best blues performances; but “The Thrill of Your Love” (a very gospel-tinged number), “Soldier Boy,” “Girl of My Best Friend,” and “Girl Next Door Went a’ Walking,” also displayed the rich, deep vocalizing that would challenge critics’ expectations of Elvis Presley playing rhythm guitar throughout. He also comes off better than on any of his other albums since arriving at RCA, as a musician as much as a “star” (he’d always had a lot more to say about running his sessions than the critics who loathed his RCA years indicated). [The 1999 remastering of this classic album features the complete contents of the March 20, 1960, RCA Hollywood session plus the dawn-to-dusk April 2 Nashville session that rounded out the album, for a total of 18 songs, including the three singles and their B-sides from those sessions. The sound is extraordinarily close yet natural, giving the listener full value for the presence of Scotty Moore, Hank Garland (who also plays bass on a few tracks), D.J. Fontana, Boots Randolph, and Floyd Cramer.]


01. Make Me Know It
02. Fever
03. The Girl of My Best Friend
04. I Will Be Home Again
05. Dirty, Dirty Feeling
06. Thrill of Your Love
07. Soldier Boy
08. Such a Night
09. It Feels So Right
10. Girl Next Door Went A’Walking
11. Like a Baby
12. Reconsider Baby

Leader & Guitar: Elvis Presley
Guitar: Scotty Moore
Guitar Hank Garland
Drums: DJ. Fontana
Drums: Murray Harman
Piano: Floyd Cramer
Bass: Bob Moore
Sax: Homer “Boots” Randolph

The Jordanaires: Gordon Stoker, Neal Matthews, Jr. Hoyt Hawkins, Raymond C. Walker

Mastered by George Marino at Sterling Sound © 2012 Analogue Productions / Originally released 1960.







%d bloggers like this: