Buddy Miles Express – Booger Bear + Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles Live (1973+72) [Reissue 2019] MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Buddy Miles Express – Booger Bear + Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles Live (1973+72) [Reissue 2019]
PS3 Rip | 2x SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 87:52 min | Front/Rear Covers | 3,94 GB
or DSD64 2.0 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,62 GB
or FLAC Stereo (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 922 MB
Features Stereo and Quadrophonic Surround Sound | Vocalion # 2CDSML 8560

“Booger Bear” was an album released by The Buddy Miles Express in 1973. It made the Billboard charts in 1974. “Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles! Live!” is a live album by Carlos Santana and Buddy Miles. It was recorded during the “Sunshine ’72” Festival. In 2019, the UK label Dutton Vocalion released a double CD/SACD hybrid of “Booger Bear” and “Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles! Live!” with the CD content in stereo and the SACD layers offering the original multichannel quadraphonic mixes of each album.

Buddy Miles Express – Booger Bear
The album received a positive review in the November, 23, 1973 issue of Billboard. The reviewer referred to it as a production of the first order with time and care being put into the selections. The songs “Why” and “United Nations Stomp”, both composed by Miles were singled out as solid entries. The album was also released in the Quadraphonic SQ Matrix. A review in the February, 24 issue Billboard for Quadrasonic albums mentioned the spectrum being opened up by the Columbia sound engineers. It also made the distinction between this album and most of the others that relied on the “Front” stereo approach, with the music in Booger Bear actually surrounding the listener. The album was a Billboard, FM Action Pick for KAFM-FM and KNAC-FM in early December, 1973, and a pick for WNEW-FM the following week.

Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles! Live!
From December 1971 to April 1972, Carlos Santana and several other members of Santana toured with drummer/vocalist Buddy Miles, a former member of the Electric Flag and Jimi Hendrix’s Band of Gypsys. The resulting live album contained both Santana hits (“Evil Ways”) and Buddy Miles hits (“Changes”), plus a 25-minute, side-long jam titled “Free Form Funkafide Filth.” It was not, perhaps, the live album Santana fans had been waiting for, but at this point in its career, the band could do no wrong. The album went into the Top Ten and sold a million copies.


Disc 1: Buddy Miles Express – Booger Bear
01. Booger Bear
02. Thinking Of You
03. Why
04. You Really Got Me
05. Love
06. United Nations Stomp
07. Crazy Love
08. You Are Everything
09. Louie’s Blues

Disc 2: Carlos Santana & Buddy Miles! Live!
01. Marbles
02. Lava
03. Evil Ways
04. Faith Interlude
05. Them Changes
06. Free Form Funkafide Filth

Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.










%d bloggers like this: