Bob Dylan with The Band – Planet Waves (1974) [MFSL 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Bob Dylan with The Band – Planet Waves (1974) [MFSL 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 42:42 minutes | Scans included | 1,26 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 868 MB
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # UDSACD 2153

Reteaming with the Band, Bob Dylan winds up with an album that recalls New Morning more than The Basement Tapes, since Planet Waves is given to a relaxed intimate tone – all the more appropriate for a collection of modest songs about domestic life. As such, it may seem a little anticlimactic since it has none of the wildness of the best Dylan and Band music of the ’60s – just an approximation of the homespun rusticness. Considering that the record was knocked out in the course of three days, its unassuming nature shouldn’t be a surprise, and sometimes it’s as much a flaw as a virtue, since there are several cuts that float into the ether. Still, it is a virtue in places, as there are moments – “On a Night Like This,” “Something There Is About You,” the lovely “Forever Young” – where it just gels, almost making the diffuse nature of the rest of the record acceptable.


01. On A Night Like This
02. Going, Going, Gone
03. Tough Mama
04. Hazel
05. Something There Is About You
06. Forever Young
07. Forever Young
08. Dirge
09. You Angel You
10. Never Say Goodbye
11. Wedding Song

Mastered by Shawn R. Britton at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.



%d bloggers like this: