America – Homecoming (1972) [Audio Fidelity 2015] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

America – Homecoming (1972) [Audio Fidelity 2015]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 & DST64 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 34:00 minutes | Full Scans included | 2,78 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 33:37 mins | Scans incl. | 590 MB
Features 2.0 Stereo and 5.1 multichannel surround sound | Audio Fidelity # AFZ5 204

Homecoming, America’s finest album, refines and focuses the folk-pop approach found on their debut release. The songs here are tighter and more forthright, with fewer extended solo instrumental sections than before. The sound quality is clear and bright; the colorful arrangements, while still acoustic guitar-based, feature more electric guitar and keyboards. The performance quality is more assured, among the most urgently committed the group would ever put on vinyl. Verses are still sometimes banal and clunky (“You can’t disregard your friends/But life gets so hard when you reach the end”) or cryptic (“Sorry, boy, but I’ve been hit by purple rain”), but a number of the song subjects here exhibit a yearning sense of wanderlust and love of the outdoors that proves to be highly evocative and compelling (particularly on “Moon Song,” “Ventura Highway,” “California Revisited,” and “Cornwall Blank”). Chordal progressions are sophisticated and contain many subtle surprises. A few new style wrinkles can be seen in the country-influenced “Don’t Cross the River,” the drivingly gutsy “California Revisited” (perhaps the hardest-rocking song the group would ever produce), and the hushed yet mildly funky “Head & Heart.” Chart hits from this release include “Ventura Highway,” “Only in Your Heart,” and “Don’t Cross the River,” but each song here has something to recommend it. This top-flight album is a very rewarding listen.


01. Ventura Highway
02. To Each His Own
03. Don’t Cross the River
04. Moon Song
05. Only in Your Heart
06. Till the Sun Comes Up Again
07. Cornwall Blank
08. Head and Heart
09. California Revisited
10. Saturn Nights

5.1 Multichannel Mix & Master: Elliot Scheiner
5.1 Analog to High Definition DSD Digital Transfer: Gus Skinas
Stereo CD and SACD mastering: Steve Hoffman at Stephen Marsh Mastering



%d bloggers like this: