Peter Tosh – Legalize It (1976) [Reissue 1999] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Peter Tosh – Legalize It (1976) [Reissue 1999]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 41:45 minutes | Scans included | 2,78 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 41:34 mins | Scans | 869 MB

Originally released in 1976, Legalize It was Peter Tosh’s debut album and, following years spent as a core member of The Wailers, announced with a bold statement his arrival as a solo artist. Although famous for its title track’s celebration and promotion of the usage of marijuana, the album mixes Tosh’s political stance with humor and melodic infectiousness. The album features heavyweights of Jamaican music and members of The Wailers and Peter Tosh’s backing band, Word, Sound and Power.

After years of being overshadowed by Bob Marley, Peter Tosh left the Wailers to pursue a solo career. Released in 1976, Legalize It is a bold statement that Peter Tosh had arrived and was a creative force in his own right. Although he explores some issues of spirituality, this is Tosh’s most lightweight album in the sense that it is his least political. This is not meant as a criticism — in fact, Tosh’s playfulness and joy (“Ketchy Shuby”) only add to the album’s charm. He does make political statements (the title track celebrates and promotes the use of marijuana), but they are done with a sense of humor and a melodic infectiousness that belie his sincere concern for the issues. Tosh incorporates many instruments and mixes slower ballads with upbeat grooving tunes. The album’s highlight is “Why Must I Cry,” a multi-layered song (co-written with Bob Marley) that conveys a sense of personal failure when fighting an uphill battle, whether it be against injustices of the world or within the confines of a relationship. Legalize It cemented Tosh’s position as a giant in reggae, and the album is one of the best albums of the genre.


01. Legalize It
02. Burial
03. Whatcha Gonna Do
04. No Sympathy
05. Why Must I Cry
06. Igziabeher (Let Jah Be Praised)
07. Ketchy Shuby
08. Till Your Well Runs Dry
09. Brand New Second Hand
10. Ketchy Shuby (Instrumental)



%d bloggers like this: