Paul Mauriat – Penelope & Holidays (1972/1973) [Reissue 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Paul Mauriat – Penelope & Holidays (1972/1973) [Reissue 2017]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 79:28 minutess | Scans included | 3,2 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,37 GB
Features Stereo and Multichannel surround sound | Label: Vocalion # CDLK 4607

Two early 70s gems from French Easy Listening maestro Paul Mauriat – both from a time when he was at the height of his powers! “Penelope” has a sexy lady on the front cover, and a sound that definitely matches that mood too – although Mauriat also manages to bring up some funky strings at a few points too – maybe giving the music more of a special sort of soundtrack mix than some of his earlier records! The sound is bright, but never too polished. “Holidays” is a sweet set that serves up easy instrumental versions of European and American pop hits from the late 60s and early 70s – all done with that spacious blend of strings, piano, and electric bottom bass that always made Paul Mauriat one of the sexier, slinkier easy listening artists of his time!


01. Penelope
02. Melancholy Man
03. La Bikina
04. In the Summertime
05. Pardonne Moi ce Caprice Denfant
06. Etude in the Form of Rhythm and Blues
07. El Condor Pasa
08. Pomme Pomme Pomme
09. Reviens Je Taime
10. Che Sara
11. Et Mourir de Plaisir
12. My Sweet Lord
13. Holidays
14. La Chanson pour Anna
15. Il y a du Soleil sur La France
16. Apres Toi
17. Mamy Blue
18. Last Summer Day
19. Speak Softly Love
20. Jesus Cristo
21. Id Like to Teach the World to Sing
22. Heres to You
23. A Summer Place
24. Mother of Mine

Tracks “01-12” is “Penelope” (LP ‘1972)
Tracks “13-24” is “Holidays” (LP ‘1973).
Remastered from the Original Master tapes by Michael J. Dutton.



%d bloggers like this: