Simple Minds – Cry (2002) SACD ISO

Simple Minds – Cry (2002)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 47:35 minutes | Scans included | 1,92 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 957 MB

No new ground is broken on Cry. In fact, Simple Minds’ reliance on glistening synthesizer textures, the band’s most distinguishing characteristic when it broke in the mid-’80s, becomes the only notable detail on the disc. With unmemorable material and the vocals of Jim Kerr showing little interpretive or technical advancement, each track hangs heavily on the keyboards, which become so dominant that some guitar parts merely imitate electronic effects; the tremolo strings on “Sleeping Girl” may as well come from a sample loop. To its credit, Simple Minds has a unique sound; no matter who among the many credited keyboardists is actually playing a given part, it can’t be mistaken for the product of any other band (with the exception of the last track, Vince Clarke’s “The Floating World,” whose galloping rhythm nods obviously toward Erasure). But when sheen takes precedence over substance, and particularly when that sheen has gleamed for nearly 30 years, that says something about what’s been missing from the hearts of Simple Minds.


01. Cry
02. Spaceface
03. New Sunshine Morning
04. One Step Closer
05. Face In The Sun
06. Disconnected
07. Lazy Lately
08. Sugar
09. Sleeping Girl
10. Cry Again
11. Slave Nation
12. The Floating World



%d bloggers like this: