The Cars – The Cars (1978) [MFSL 2016] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Cars – The Cars (1978) [MFSL 2016]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 35:19 minutes | Scans included | 1,44 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 715 MB
Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab # 2162

The Cars’ 1978 self-titled debut, issued on the Elektra label, is a genuine rock masterpiece. The band jokingly referred to the album as their “true greatest-hits album”, but it’s no exaggeration – all nine tracks are new wave/rock classics, still in rotation on rock radio. Whereas most bands of the late ’70s embraced either punk/new wave or hard rock, the Cars were one of the first bands to do the unthinkable – merge the two styles together. Add to it bandleader/songwriter Ric Ocasek’s supreme pop sensibilities, and you had an album that appealed to new wavers, rockers, and Top 40 fans. One of the most popular new wave songs ever, “Just What I Needed”, is an obvious highlight, as are such familiar hits as “Good Times Roll”, “My Best Friend’s Girl”, and “You’re All I’ve Got Tonight”. But like most consummate rock albums, the lesser-known compositions are just as exhilarating: “Don’t Cha Stop”, “Bye Bye Love”, “All Mixed Up”, and “Moving in Stereo”, the latter featured as an instrumental during a steamy scene in the popular movie Fast Times at Ridgemont High. With flawless performances, songwriting, and production (courtesy of Queen alumni Roy Thomas Baker), the Cars’ debut remains one of rock’s all-time classics.


01. Good Times Roll
02. My Best Friend’s Girl
03. Just What I Needed
04. I’m In Touch With Your World
05. Don’t Cha Stop
06. You’re All I’ve Got Tonight
07. Bye Bye Love
08. Moving In Stereo
09. All Mixed Up

Mastered by Shawn R. Britton at Mobile Fidelity Sound Lab, Sebastopol, CA.



%d bloggers like this: