Various Artists – Golden Age Of Crossover: Fusion 1977-1987 (2019) SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

Various Artists – Golden Age Of Crossover: Fusion 1977-1987 (2019)
SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 66:07 minutes | 2,67 GB
or DSD64 (tracks.dsf) 1 bit/2.8224 MHz | Scans included | 2,63 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo 24-bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,39 GB
Victor Entertainment / Stereo Sound Japan # SSRR-12

“Golden Age of Crossover” is a compilation of fusion music selected by Japanese audio critic, Yoshio Obara. With the cooperation of JVC/Kenwood Victor Entertainment, Obara has carefully chosen 13 tunes of Japanese fusion — all of which are his favorites from school days — from its music list, especially from those recognized their excellence in sound creation. This new disc by Stereo Sound label have been released under label’s “Critics Series” mark, that have been produced as reference discs for the auditioning of audio components and are one of well-received “Reference Record Collections”.

What is special about this disc is that the chosen tunes, which were issued from 1977 to 1987, include the ones composed by overseas artists or the ones recorded at the studio abroad, and in some tunes Japanese and overseas artists are playing vying each other. For these backdrops, the disc has “Crossover” for its name. While modern compilation albums are often produced from digital source, 12 out of 13 tunes of this disc were transferred from the authentic analog master tapes.

With the presence of Obara, mastering of the disc (a hybrid SACD) was done by Tsuyoshi Hakamada who is an engineer of mastering studio FLAIR, supervised by Hideo Takada who used be a sound producer and recording engineer of the VICTOR STUDIO and engaged in the original recordings of 5 tunes included in this disc. The fact is that “Golden Age of Crossover” has become the first SACD for the JVC/KENWOOD Victor Entertainment. It would also be an enough reason for music lovers to listen to.

The masters used for the standard CD audio format on the top layer are the same ones from which the “K2HD PRO MASTERING” series were transferred; different masters were used for the higher-fidelity SACD format on the bottom layer. In the accompanying liner notes, Obara commented on what was the impetus to have a liking for the fusion music, each tune’s high spot, and on a blissful moment to listen to the greatest tunes of fusion music in Japan on a finely tuned audio system.


01. Sadao Watanabe – Morning Island (Originally released in 1979)
02. Its – Keepin’ Score (Originally released in 1980)
03. Masaki Matsubara – Suicide Freak (Originally released in 1979)
04. Yasuko Agawa – Sentimental Journey (Originally released in 1980)
05. Malta – High Pressure (Originally released in 1987)
06. Naomi Akimoto – Silent Communication (Originally released in 1982)
07. Native Son – Super Safari (Originally released in 1979)
08. Mari Nakamoto – Stay Close (Originally released in 1984)
09. Junshi Yamagishi – Soap Dancer (Originally released in 1979)
10. Terumasa Hino – Gently (Originally released in 1980)
11. Sunburst – Sunburst (Originally released in 1980)
12. Takehiro Honda – With Our Soul (Originally released in 1978)
13. Sadao Watanabe – My Dear Life (Originally released in 1977)

Compiled by Yoshio Obara. Mastering Engineer: Takeshi Hakamata.




%d bloggers like this: