The Red Garland Trio – Groovy (1958) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Red Garland Trio – Groovy (1958) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 39:50 minutes | Scans included | 1,61 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 599 MB

Red Garland & Miles Davis had a symbiotic relationship. Red was such an important cog in the Davis quintet as a soloist, interactive accompanist, & keeper of the repertory. Being in Miles’ group gave Garland the exposure he otherwise would not have gotten. Once Garland’s talent as a pianist, with a boundless repository of material in his head, was established, Prestige’s Bob Weinstock signed him to a contract as a recording leader in his own right. With his Davis section-mate, Paul Chambers, on bass, & New York drummer Arthur Taylor, Garland formed a trio that met quite often in Rudy Van Gelder’s studio. Groovy was the 3rd in Red’s trio series for Prestige & it has the usual fine mix of jazz standards, ballad standards, blues ballads, & just plain blues. It is an object lesson in finding & maintaining a groove.


01. C-Jam Blues
02. Gone Again
03. Will You Still Be Mine?
04. Willow Weep For Me
05. What Can I Say Dear?
06. Hey Now

Red Garland – piano
Paul Chambers – bass
Arthur Taylor – drums

Recorded in 1956 &1957 at Van Gelder Studio, Hackensack, New Jersey.
This limited SHM-SACD is based on the 2011 DSD masters made from original analogue MONO tapes maintained in Japan.



%d bloggers like this: