The Lonnie Smith = John Abercrombie Trio – Afro Blue (1994) [Japan 2017] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Lonnie Smith = John Abercrombie Trio – Afro Blue (1994) [Japan 2017]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 66:15 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 2,67 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,39 GB

Dr. Lonnie Smith is an unparalleled musician, composer, performer and recording artist. An authentic master and guru of the Hammond B-3 organ for over five decades, he has been featured on over seventy albums, and has recorded and performed with a virtual “Who’s Who” of the greatest jazz, blues and R&B giants in the industry. His unpredictable, insatiable musical taste illustrates that no genre is safe, as Lonnie has recorded everything from covers of the Beatles, the Stylistics and the Eurythmics, to tribute albums of Jimi Hendrix, John Coltrane and Beck–all by employing ensembles ranging from a trio to a fifteen-piece big band. Moreover, many of Doc’s recent compositions reflect dramatic ethereal qualities and orchestration that elicit movie scores or soundtracks.

After a long hiatus from the record shelves, the turbaned Dr. Lonnie Smith – along with guitarist John Abercrombie and drummer Marvin “Smitty” Smith – sets his sights upon John Coltrane, turning in five ‘Trane tunes plus Mongo Santamaria’s “Afro-Blue” and a grooving Smith tribute, “Traces of Trane.” The propulsive title track is mostly dominated by Abercrombie, while “Impressions” continues the driving pace as Lonnie sprays Hammond B-3 organ notes all over the place with constant brief call-and-response dialogues with himself. Another highlight is one of the two breathers, the aptly named “Lonnie’s Lament,” which has a nice haunting lilt. Carelessly left off the label and booklet copy – but embedded in your CD anyway – is any mention of a 12-minute workout on “Greensleeves” in the push-pull, modal Coltrane manner, with a strong hint of Jimmy Smith. Abercrombie usually plays in his veiled, out-of-tempo manner, while “Smitty” is a volatile, hyperkinetic workhorse most of the time, offering a complex individualistic challenge to the Elvin Jones standard.


01. Afro Blue
02. Impressions
03. Naima
04. Green Sleeves
05. Bessie’s Blues
06. Lonnie’s Lament
07. Traces Of Trane

Lonnie Smith – organ
John Abercrombie – guitar
Marvin “Smitty” Smith – drums

Produced, Mixed & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered by Jerome Fox.
Recorded on June 17, 1993 at Sound Designer Studio in New York.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-221.



%d bloggers like this: