The Jim Hall Quartet – All Across The City (1989) [Reissue 2003] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

The Jim Hall Quartet – All Across The City (1989) [Reissue 2003]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 57:05 minutes | Scans included | 3,85 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 1,01 GB

Jim Hall’s successful blend of contemporary and mainstream jazz should appeal to both camps on this well-crafted album. Hall displays the subtle quiet lyricism that makes his guitar sound instantly identifiable. Gil Goldstein is a perfect choice on keyboards, because he uses synthesizer only to color rather than overpower a song, while avoiding schmaltz. Both “Beja-Flor” and the title track benefit from his contributions. Though his piano is frequently in the background, it matches Hall’s hushed, effective guitar lines. Bassist Steve LaSpina and drummer Terry Clarke frequently lay out during the introductions and then enter to add either gentle shadings or full steam, if needed. One of Jim Hall’s best albums.


01. Beija-Flor
02. Bemsha Swing
03. Prelude to a Kiss
04. Young One (For Debra)
05. R.E.M. State
06. Jane
07. All Across the City
08. Drop Shot
09. How Deep Is the Ocean?
10. Something Tells Me
11. Big Blues



%d bloggers like this: