The Great Jazz Trio – July 6th, Live at Birdland, NY (2007) MCH SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Great Jazz Trio – July 6th, Live at Birdland, NY (2007)
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 62:34 minutes | Scans included | 3,9 GB
or DSD64 Stereo (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Full Scans included | 2,47 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Scans included | 1,26 GB

At age 89, Hank Jones is playing as well as any point in his long, celebrated career. He is still constantly challenging himself, teaming up with younger musicians, performing and recording new materials. This disc, simply titled July 6th, is the second part of the Great Jazz Trio, contains more tunes that Jones had never recorded before.

Long-traveled jazz juggernaut led by pianist Hank Jones. His Great Jazz Trio, which was born in 1975 with Tony Williams and Ron Carter, has undergone numerous personnel changes, and the latest, 21st century iteration includes John Patitucci and Omar Hakim. Hakim is generally known as a fusion/contemporary drummer, but unexpected chemical reaction of seemingly incompatible elements has been the hallmark of the Great Jazz Trio from its beginning.

On this release, recorded in 24-channel pure DSD with a mobile recording unit and mixed and mastered in Tokyo at Sony Studios, Hank Jones’ piano playing is elegant, fresh and inventive. Patitucci aids with superb musicality, and Hakim with impeccable comping and explosive solos.


01. Mercy,Mercy,Mercy
02. Blue Monk
03. In A Sentimental Mood
04. Amapola
05. Softly As In A Morning Sunrise
06. Waltz For Debby
07. Five Spot After Dark
08. The Sidewinder
09. Moose The Mooche

Hank Jones – piano
John Patitucci – bass
Omar Hakim – drums

Pure DSD Recording.
Recorded live at Birdland, New York, on July 6, 2007.




%d bloggers like this: