The Bill Crow Quartet – Jazz Anecdotes (1997) [Japan 2016] SACD ISO + DSF DSD64 + Hi-Res FLAC

The Bill Crow Quartet – Jazz Anecdotes (1997) [Japan 2016]
SACD Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 61:04 minutes | Front/Rear Covers | 1,86 GB
or DSD64 2.0 (from SACD-ISO to Tracks.dsf) > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front/Rear Covers | 1,67 GB
or FLAC (carefully converted & encoded to tracks) 24bit/48 kHz | Front/Rear Covers | 751 MB

Bassist Bill Crow is better-known as being sideman in the band rather than a leader. His dreams definitely came true in this, his second release for Venus. Selections are composed of standards, classic jazz compositions, and a pair of originals.

The buoyant take of Oscar Pettiford’s ‘Bohemia After Dark’ has great solos by each member of the band, while Leggio and Cohn trade tasty licks during ‘In a Mellotone.’ Crow’s arrangement of ‘Round Midnight’ is played at a brisker than usual tempo with a bossa nova rhythm, while Leggio’s mellow tenor sax swings like mad in Lester Young’s ‘Tickletoe.’ ‘On the Alamo’ is a once-popular tune that has long since fallen out of favor, though the quartet’s delightful exploration of this old chestnut works beautifully. ‘Mack the Knife’ is in danger of overexposure, but this fresh interpretation does not settle for the predictable paths. Crow’s composition, ‘Jazz Anecdotes,’ salutes the spirit of Count Basie’s band, while his ‘Tarrytown’ is a lush ballad showcasing the leader first…the intimate sound of this very well-knit quartet throughout the sessions make this a warmly recommended title for fans of swing, bop, or cool jazz.


01. Jazz Anecdotes
02. Bohemia After Dark
03. In A Mellotone
04. Street Of Dreams
05. Tarrytown
06. Lover, Come Back To Me
07. On The Alamo
08. Mack The Knife
09. These Foolish Things
10. ‘Round Midnight
11. Speak Low
12. Tickletoe

Bill Crow – bass
Carmel Leggio – tenor saxophone
Joe Cohn – guitar
David Jones – drums

Produced & Mastered by Tetsuo Hara. Engineered & Mixed by Rudy Van Gelder.
Recorded on November 19-20, 1996 at Van Gelder Studio in New Jersey.
Venus Hyper Magnum Sound Direct Mix. VENUS Japan # VHGD-168.




%d bloggers like this: