Stuff – Stuff (1976) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Stuff – Stuff (1976) [Japanese Limited SHM-SACD 2011]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 41:31 minutes | Scans included | 1,69 GB
or FLAC(converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | Full Scans included | 781 MB
Genre: Funk, Soul, Jazz

Stuff was a legendary fusion group that existed briefly in the late 1970s. They were quite popular for a few years, recording four albums for Warner Bros. and having occasional reunions in the 80s. Under the leadership of bassist Gordon Edwards, first-call New York studio musicians got together and mostly played for their own fun.

Stuff never won the respect of bop snobs, but that isn’t what they were going for. The band’s specialty was an accessible, groove-oriented blend of jazz, R&B, and pop, and not everyone who bought their records was a jazz expert. Though some of Stuff’s fans knew a lot about jazz, others were Average White Band or Chaka Khan fans who bought the occasional Grover Washington, Jr. album. Stuff’s LPs weren’t amazing, but they were generally likable. That is the case with this self-titled debut album, which was produced by Herb Lovelle and Tommy LiPuma and earned the band a loyal following in 1976. While congenial tunes like “Reflections of Divine Love” and “Foots” aren’t breathtaking, they’re pleasant and easy to like. Guitarist Eric Gale, drummer Steve Gadd, and other Stuff members were capable of a lot more. Nonetheless, the band’s recording career was off to a decent, if unremarkable, start with this 1976 LP.


01. Foots
02. My Sweetness
03. (Do You) Want Some of This
04. Looking For The Juice
05. Reflections of Divine Love
06. How Long Will It Last
07. Sun Song
08. Happy Farms
09. Dixie / Up On The Roof



%d bloggers like this: