Steve Kuhn Trio – Pavane For A Dead Princess (2006) SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Steve Kuhn Trio – Pavane For A Dead Princess (2006)
Pio BDP-80FD Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 >1-bit/2.8224 MHz | Front+Back | 2.84 GB
FLAC tracks 2.0 24bit/88.2 kHz | Front+Back | 1.42 GB
Genre: Jazz

Pianist Steve Kuhn, accompanied by David Finck and Billy Drummond, explore classical works by a number of top composers from the 19th and 20th centuries on this Japanese release, though they are used as a launching pad for improvisation. Maurice Ravel’s “Pavane for a Dead Princess” is recast as a soft samba, also incorporating a bit of an earlier standard that was derived from the French Impressionist’s piece, “The Lamp Is Low.” Chopin is obviously one of Kuhn’s favorite classical composers, as three of his features, highlighted by a dreamy setting of “Nocturne in E Flat Major, Op. 9, No. 2.” He brightens the tempo of Claude Debussy’s “Reverie” while retaining its lyricism, while slowing Johannes Brahms’ “Lullaby” to a crawl and demonstrating how a master jazz pianist utilizes space as an element of improvisation.


01. Im Always Chasing Rainbows – Fantasy Impronptu 7:22
02. Pavane For A Deac Princess 6:26
03. Moon Love – Synphony #5 2nd Movement 6:46
04. One Road Rose Forever 5:32
05. Swan Lake 6:09
06. Nocturne In E-flat Major Op 9, No.2 6:38
07. Reverie 8:09
08. Prelude In E Minor Op 28, No.4 5:43
09. Full Moon And Empty Arms – Piano Concerto #2 3rd Movement 6:43
10. Pavane 6:32
11. Lullaby 3:37

Steve Kuhn – piano
David Finck – double bass
Billy Drummond – drums

Produced by Tetsuo Hara and Todd Barkan



%d bloggers like this: