Sonny Rollins – The Bridge (1962) [Reissue 2013] SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Sonny Rollins – The Bridge (1962) [Reissue 2013]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DSD64 2.0 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 40:47 minutes | Scans included | 1,65 GB
or FLAC (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/96 kHz | Full Scans included | 983 MB

The Bridge is a studio album by jazz saxophonist Sonny Rollins, recorded in 1962. It was Rollins’ first release following a three-year sabbatical and was his first album for RCA Victor. The saxophonist was joined by the musicians with whom he recorded for the next segment of his career: Jim Hall on guitar, Bob Cranshaw on double bass and Ben Riley on drums.

Tenor saxophonist Sonny Rollins’ first recording after ending a surprising three-year retirement found the great saxophonist sounding very similar to how he had played in 1959, although he would soon start investigating freer forms. In a pianoless quartet with guitarist Jim Hall, bassist Bob Cranshaw, and drummer Ben Riley, Rollins explores four standards (including “Without a Song” and “God Bless the Child”) plus two fiery originals, highlighted by the title cut. The interplay between Rollins and Hall is consistently impressive, making this set a near-classic and a very successful comeback.


01. Without A Song
02. Where Are You
03. John S.
04. The Bridge
05. God Bless The Child
06. You Do Something To Me

Sonny Rollins – tenor saxophone
Jim Hall – guitar
Bob Cranshaw – bass
Ben Riley – drums
Harry “H.T.” Saunders – drums on “5”

Recorded on January 30 and February 13-14, 1962 at RCA Victor Studio B, NYC.



%d bloggers like this: