Shirley Horn – Softly (1988/2019) DSF DSD256 + Hi-Res FLAC

Shirley Horn – Softly (1988/2019)
DSD256 (.dff) 1 bit/11,28 MHz MHz | Time – 00:52:03 minutes | 8,21 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/88,2 kHz | Time – 00:52:03 minutes | 685 MB
Official Digital Download | Digital Booklet, Front Cover | Genre: Vocal Jazz | © 2xHD

Softly is a masterpice. Anyone who appreciates a grown up sense of romanticism and sensuality will find endless joy from this album. For me, Softly is the perfect soundtrack to a rainy Sunday afternoon in bed with your lover.

The Shirley Horn Trio played so slowly, but with perfect musicality and rhythm, as to be hypnotic. The drummer, Steve williams, is one of the finest percussionists you will ever hear. It should be noted that Shirley Horn is the singer AND pianist. Ms. Horn’s voice is sultry and deep while her piano playing displays a highly sensitive understanding of chord structure and voicing. I often think her piano playing sounds like French impressionists like Debussy, Ravel, or Satie.

You’re my thrill is a hauntingly beautiful melody/lyric, How Long Has This Been Going On? includes the rarely used opening recitative as heard in “Funny Face” starring Audrey Hepburn, My, How The Time Goes By is the definition of “in-th-pocket” groove, and my favorites: I watch you sleep, and the title track, Softly, truly capture the tender satisfaction of watching your lover sleep and the complexities of adult relationships.

I am an audiophile. I used to think the album was poorly recorded because I had a cheap Pioneer stereo with boomy Bose speakers. On a mediocre stereo the bass is heavy and the treble sounds bright. On a high-end system the album is a bit cool, but very clearly recorded. Audiophile is the name of the record label that produced Softly!

I have every Shirley Horn album and this is perhaps my favorite. I also recommend the albums You Wont Forget Me, I Love You Paris, and Close Enough For Love.

We’ll miss you Shirley!”


01. Since I Fell for You
02. Dindi (Sung in Portuguese)
03. You’re My Thrill
04. Summer (Estate)
05. I Watch You Sleep
06. Softly, As I Leave You
07. How Long Has This Been Going On?
08. Forget Me
09. My How the Time Goes By

Shirley Horn – Vocals, Piano
Charles Ables – Bass
Steve Williams – Drums

Original Recording Format: Analog Tape
Mastering Engineer René La Flamme, Analog to DSD 256 Transfer



%d bloggers like this: