Shirley Horn – Here’s To Life (1992) [Reissue 2004] MCH SACD ISO + Hi-Res FLAC

Shirley Horn – Here’s To Life (1992) [Reissue 2004]
PS3 Rip | SACD ISO | DST64 2.0 & 5.1 > 1-bit/2.8224 MHz | 62:07 minutes | Scans included | 3,93 GB
or FLAC 2.0 Stereo (converted with foobar2000 to tracks) 24bit/88,2 kHz | 62:40 min | Scans | 1,17 GB

Shirley Horn’s meeting with a string section and an orchestra arranged by Johnny Mandel has some exquisite moments although sometimes it is just overly sweet. Horn recorded with her trio (which includes bassist Charles Ables and drummer Steve Williams) first, emphasizing slow ballads. Mandel used the pianist-vocalist’s improvisations and chord voicings as the basis for his charts and trumpeter Wynton Marsalis took guest solos on “A Time for Love” and “Quietly There.” Shirley Horn fans will love this CD (which includes such numbers as “Here’s To Life,” “How Am I To Know” and “If You Love Me”) but no real surprises or contrast occurs.


01. Here’s To Life
02. Come A Little Closer/Wild Is The Wind
03. How Am I To Know
04. A Time For Love
05. Where Do You Start
06. You’re Nearer
07. Return To Paradise
08. Isn’t It A Pity?
09. Quietly There
10. If You Love Me (Really Love Me)
11. Summer (Estaté)



%d bloggers like this: