Sarah Vaughan – After Hours (1961/2019) DSF DSD256 + Hi-Res FLAC

Sarah Vaughan – After Hours (1961/2019)
DSD256 (.dsf) 1 bit/11,2 MHz | Time – 31:41 minutes | 4,99 GB
DSD128 (.dsf) 1 bit/5,6 MHz | Time – 31:41 minutes | 2,49 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/192 kHz | Time – 31:41 minutes | 1,29 GB
or FLAC (tracks) 24 bit/96 kHz | Time – 31:41 minutes | 705 MB
Studio Master, Official Digital Download – Source: HDTT | Artwork: Digital booklet

From 1961-1962, Sarah Vaughan recorded two albums while accompanied by just guitar and bass. Her 1962 outing for the obscure Reactivation label (with guitarist Barney Kessel and bassist Joe Comfort) is hard to find, as is her earlier set with guitarist Mundell Lowe and bassist George Duvivier. Surprisingly, Lowe only has one solo, so the emphasis throughout is exclusively on Vaughan’s magnificent voice. The program mostly sticks to ballads, with a couple of exceptions (most notably “Great Day”), and is a quiet and intimate affair, with Vaughan more subtle than she sometimes was. Despite a lightweight version of “My Favorite Things” that will not remind listeners of John Coltrane, this is an excellent if brief set (34-and-a-half minutes) with some fine jazz singing.


01 – My Favorite Things
02 – Ev’ry Time We Say Goodbye
03 – Wonder Why
04 – Easy To Love
05 – Sophisticated Lady
06 – Great Day
07 – Ill Wind
08 – If Love Is Good To Me
09 – In A Sentimental Mood
10 – Vanity

Sarah Vaughan – vocals
Mundell Lowe – guitar
George Duvivier – bass

Recorded on July 18, 1961 at RKO-Pathe Studio, New York City.
DSD Transferred from a 15ips 2-track tape by HDTT.




%d bloggers like this: